[Diary of an Expatriate Venezuelan] Part 2 - Nikita, the Cliff and the Island of CR7.

in #venezuela7 years ago (edited)

Good steemians! A little over a week ago I told that I moved to Madeira once I finished the Steemfest and the reasons why I moved. This time I will comment on what I have done in the first few days that I have been here.

I would like to highlight is that the Madeira Airport is known by the name of "Cristiano Ronaldo Airport"

My first days here were a bit more complicated with respect to the language, although I have Portuguese nationality, I do not speak Portuguese ... and although my uncles know how to speak Spanish, my 14-year-old cousin and the rest of my uncles here, do not ... Many times I did not know what they were saying, and as a good Venezuelan in my mind I thought: "yours just in case" (It is an expression we use when we do not understand what they say and we think they are insulting our mother) Over time this was improving, partly because I began to understand Portuguese more and more, and partly because now they try to talk more slowly with me.

The first week was mainly about exploring the Island, I met several regions of the place, I met and I saw again 7 of my 10 uncles from my Father and I bought some clothes, as initially my plan was not to come here, just I came with enough shirts for 7 days and the 2 flannels that they gave me in the Steemfest, so I bought a Winter Coat and a scarf:


Foto Cortesia del Telefono de mi prima

One of the first places that I went to, was to try one of the typical drinks of the island, it is called Nikita, this is a drink that can be of different flavors, according to Wikipedia:

A niquita ou nikita é uma bebida tradicional da Madeira, feita de gelado (de vários sabores), açúcar, rodelas de ananás, e uma bebida alcoólica, como o vinho branco e/ou a cerveja branca, sendo todos estes bem misturados até ficar cremoso. Para essa mistura usa-se, normalmente, o pau da poncha.

É uma bebida típica de Câmara de Lobos, mas que é popular por todo o arquipélago, a Madeira e o Porto Santo.

"La niquita or Nikita is a traditional drink from Madeira, made of ice cream (several flavors), sugar, pineapple slices and an alcoholic drink, such as white wine and / or white beer, these being well blended until creamy. normally, a Poncha stick is used.

It is a typical drink of Camara de Lobos, but it is popular throughout the Archipelago, Madeira and Puerto Santo. "


fuente

Also visit the 4th highest cliff in Europe, it is 589 meters high and is one of the most touristic places on the Island:



We also went through one of the hotels on the island, and if they thought that the title said "Isla de CR7" just by the airport, they are wrong ... this hotel is the Hotel Pestana CR7 and of course, there is also a statue of him here:



It is worth mentioning that CR7 was born and grew up here in Madeira, even part of my family here became neighbors of Cristiano's parents.


Ciudad de Funchal, Madeira (In the background Camara de Lobos)


Sort:  

looking smart miguel! Its good to hear you are doing well :)

Congratulations @siersod! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @siersod! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41