Where does your Name come from?

in #venezuela6 years ago

The name ... magic word with which a person is identified. They can be loved or hated and behind each one there is a story ... Today in the story of Sunday (english version), I share the story of 2 names and a song. I hope you enjoy it

The Relentless Calendar



Sucre State – Venezuela, at the beginning of the 20th Century- Source

It was almost noon in La Soledad and she did everything possible to make the pain go away. Nicasio, her husband, took the command and with a brisk voice told him:
- The stupidities are over ... You give birth today!
Immediately he rode Chuito on the donkey on way to Pericantar to find the midwife.
Maria Simplicia did not want the girl to be born that day. She knew it was a girl; the same Cruz had confirmed it while she was massaging her belly ... And that old lady does not fail !!! If the girl was born that December 20, she was going to pray to Saint Lucia for the Calendar. It had to be named Lucia, just like the drunken woman in town. How many times were they going to make fun of their poor creature?
In the end, he was born ...
... And it was a girl as predicted by Cruz
... and was named Lucia Margarita,
Although we all knew her as Margarita during her almost eighty years of life.
This one story could be a bit exaggerated. The distance in time leaves gaps. I do not know if Lucia stopped drinking after the child was born, or she was bothered a lot by her namesake What I can assure you is that in all my life I never saw my grandmother take a drop of liquor.


Puerto La Cruz - Década de los 70. Fuente

The Name as Promise

My first remembrances are responding to the name of "Joseíto"
Then I remember with some anguish the very valid quotation of my father:
Fuck Joseito! ... You call yourself Pedro José ... And do not cry! That the men bid but do not cry!
My old man, always so emotional, I would say, but since people outside of Venezuela will not understand me, we'll leave it emotional...
A few years later, at school, they started calling me by the last name. Now I was "Boada." Until my first girlfriend called me by my last name ...
The composition of my name is due to my father and the devotion of my mother. My dad's name is Pedro Roberto, but everyone knows him as Roberto. So my mother, twenty-one ... in love ... I mean, corny, proposed to put me Pedro so that his first son had the same name as his father. My dad bought it.
Of course I still do not know if it was just a ruse to impose the Joseph, because that if it was not negotiable. The Joseph of my name is a promise fulfilled. My mother suffered a lot with her first pregnancy (my sister Odalys), so she entrusted José Gregorio Hernández with a lot of faith to make this second one better ... And as it was great, then either it was José or it was Gregorio.
And it was better that way, because Pedro Gregorio ... As my grandmother Margarita said ... Millet that does not hit even with "cautaro"!

The Song

Every good story has its soundtrack. And the song of this publication is of Mr. Evio Di Marzo (If the brother of Yordano), in a new version. I hope you enjoy it ...


Source- Youtube

And what is the history of your Name?

If you liked comment, share and above all support me with your upvote

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75