A Cautious Tale

Truck-1.jpg

While travelling in Hawaii we did some hiking and diving on Kona. One of the more famous places on the island which ends with a hike through the jungle to a spectacular black sand beach is the Waipio Valley Road. Located in the Hamakua District of the Big Island of Hawaii. The road is one of the steepest in the world, descending 1000 feet in a mere mile to the bottom of the valley. The average grade is 25% and the peak grade reaches 40%. This is one hell of a hike that for sure.

Waipio Valley-2.jpg

Most visitors hop on four wheel drive truck, rather than hike down like we did. These tourist laden trucks carefully inch their way down the winding road, while others piloted mostly by locals coast down like they have no brakes. The views are spectacular and once you reach the bottom of the road and head into the jungle you spot can spot several “lost” vehicles along the way to the beach. These are a reminder that sometimes the road is mightier than the driver.

Waipio Valley-1.jpg

Whether you hike or drive, this is a must do for anyone on the big island. I plan on returning fairly soon to the area and I’m looking forward to hiking this area again.

Waipio Valley-3.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more images and stories - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

Wow! How wonderful! When I was in Hawaii, I took a "lost" excursion, where I visited a lot of movie places. This movie was one of my favorite!

I've never been in Hawaii. well, maybe one day. Still keep my hopes.

I've been down there and you're right, it's a crazy drive. It's fun (read interesting) when you're going one way and another car wants to go the other way. You're in the middle of the hill and there aren't really turnouts. It can be scary. I recommend 4x4 over hiking though. That's a nice beach though. Worth the drive!

Travelling is one of the best & must thing people do in their life. If you travel to places like this, It's like heaven. For Travelers journey is more important than destination.

I am really very impressed with the results of your post, thank you,

Way too steep a climb for me! Great photos!

seems a very tough hiking trail..not easy for everyone but ofcorse you're exception :D

Man it's a crazy drive up the road. It's very adventurous and gutsy of you to pull of this one. The sceneries are so fabulous from point to point. But yeah be sure to stay safe. Have fun. @scottdphoto

You think my 04' civic can make it up there? I'm real proud of her!

I'ma follow you because I want to be invited to your next steep hill adventure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52