Schooner and Skyline

In keeping with my previous post, I am sharing another shot from Hong Kong. This photo of an old traditional schooner was taken from the Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade in Kowloon, facing the skyline of Hong Kong island. As with the architectural shot I posted this morning, I like the combination of old and new. In fact, that mix is a big part of the charm of Hong Kong to me.

hong kong-schooner-1.jpg
Taken with my old travel camera, a Canon PowerShot A570. f/4 at 1/250 sec. ISO 80.

Shared for @juliank’s #vehiclephotography contest. Follow @photocontests to see the winners and to learn more about the daily contests.

Sort:  

I like this shot :D

I've never been to Hong Kong. What a great experience. Was it business or pleasure?

Technically, this was pleasure at the end of a business trip. I was flying out of Hong Kong after a 2 week product development trip in China, and it was nice to have the better part of a day to spend there. I travel through Hong Kong fairly often, but I don't always have time to get out and explore. It really is a great city to experience though... such an interesting mix of cultures.

That is really awesome :) The contrast of ancient and traditional set against the backdrop of the modern and progressive is very striking.

Thanks! I thought the red sails were a pretty striking contrast to the greys of the building and sky too. Hong Kong is full of wonderful contrasts.

Very much so :) It's a very eye catching image of a very eye catching place all round.

Thanks again!

The sails really pop!

Thanks. I did think the red accent was nice on such a dreary grey day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41