Curried red lentils

in #vegetarian6 years ago (edited)

I'm back with this curried red lentils recipe, keeping it simple as usual with white rice and boiled ripe plantain.

I've always wanted to taste Indian food but haven't gotten the chance to do so (I live in Venezuela and I think there isn't any traditional indian food restaurants here) and with this recipe I approached timidly towards the wonderful world of spices and condiments that are often used to cook such soulful looking meals.

To make this you'll need:

-1 cup of red lentils.
-1 cup of Chopped veggies (whichever you prefer)
-Coconut oil (optional)
-Veggie stock
-1tbsp of garam masala
-1 teaspoon of ground ginger
-1 teaspoon of paprika
-1 teaspoon of turmeric
-1 teaspoon of cumin
-1 teaspoon of curry powder
-1tbsp of curry paste
-Salt to taste

First I started chopping my veggies, I went with green pepper, carrots, onions, habanero pepper (here in Venezuela we have a variety called "ají dulce" which isn't too spicy) and zucchini, I placed it all in a hot pan with a touch of coconut oil until the onions went translucent, then I added my cup of red lentils and covered it all with the veggie stock. Cook it up for 15 to 20 mins, until the lentils are soft and the stock is vaporized (that's how I like it, you can leave as much as you like).

I chose to eat it with plain white rice and boiled plantain to give it that extra sweetness.

Enjoy!curried red lentils.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43