You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chickens and gardens on a rainy day

in #vegetablegarden7 years ago

Wow their eggs are so, round?? Haha. I guess I'm unconventional. I needed "pretty" eggs. Hahah. I love my eclectic bunch of chickens. :) HA

When you do harvest your eggs? Morning? Afternoon? Bedtime? Just curious what other people do.

Sort:  

It was a top view picture, might have made the eggs look more round lol. I gather eggs kinda through the afternoon. Since it was reaching 100 a week after they started laying I didn't want the eggs sitting out in that kind of heat. They might not have gone bad or anything but I didn't want to risk it. I have a few hens that lay late afternoon and a few that lay in the morning right after I feed them.

It's real hot here too so I'm checking the coop all the time! Don't want babies to start developing! That's my biggest fear. Hahah my chickens seem to lay any time they want. Haha but they're still getting in the groove of things, I guess!

I have roosters and so far all of mine have been fertile little eggs. I keep it cool inside so I'm not worried about babies forming once their inside. Mine are still learning how to do things too. I've got one hen who 'announces' laying an egg at random, she's never on a nest when doing it and another hen hadn't just plopped one out. She's silly.

Mine often do the egg song when there's no egg present! Hahaha. I have roosters too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68091.64
ETH 2633.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68