My First Vegetable Garden - Part 1

in #vegetable8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! This is my inaugural blog that I am writing about my experiences starting a vegetable garden. 

Biography

Just a bit about myself...I'm 37 years old and about to be 38 soon and I  live in southwestern Pennsylvania.  I have always been interested in gardening ever since I was a little boy. I liked being outside, digging in the dirt, and basking in the sunshine while I made something come to life. As a boy this was just something as simple as planting marigold seeds in a little peat pellet inside a foam cup, watering it, and putting it in a plastic bag on the windowsill.


My first job in high school was at a nursery and garden center in 1994. It was a small operation owned and operated by a family...a very nice family.  That was, and is still today, my favorite job that I have ever had.  It was here that I learned so much about flowers and vegetables and how to care for them that it really fostered in me a desire to do so much more.


It has been a long time since I have had a garden, but this year, 2016, I've returned to that lovable pastime of mine.


Even though it is mid July, I have taken multiple photographs over the past few months to document my development of the garden.  It would be a great honor for me to share with you all my experiences growing and developing my backyard for you to read about and to see.  This is something that I have been wanting to do for a long time.  Earlier in the winter I would read article after article and watch video after video on all types of gardening subjects.  Sometimes I would be so excited I couldn't sleep.  But enough with the preliminaries and on with the show....

Beginning of a Wonderful Project 

I wish I had a photograph of what the Garden area looked like before I took it over.  Basically it looked like a jungle. but over time--maybe a few weeks when it was warm in November and December of last year--I cleared everything up.  Since the majority of the area is on a slope, raised beds would be optimal for this area.  Due to the fact that I do not have a lot of money, I do what I can with free stuff...especially all that stuff on Craigslist.  I knew that lumber would cost several hundred dollars so I acquired used shipping pallets for free.


!


Initially I planned out and measured the area for three beds, but after some miscalculations, I settled on 2 beds.  All work was done by hand and all the tools that I used were a shovel, a digging bar, twine and stakes, a level, hand saw, power drill, and of course a tape measure.


!


!


To be Continued....              #NewToSteem

Sort:  

Your project is picking up Steem power. Can't wait to see what grows in that honey pot. Maybe brand new veggy money.

Oh, it's growing good now. I just have a lot of posts to make to further the story on.

I only have a small balcony, but I find it very satisfying when somethings grows and I get to harvest it and eat it.
Tomatos, cucumbers, peppers, potatoes, and strawberries are all very easy to grow and give a good harvest. I managed to grow some pumpkins last year too, but they take up quite a bit of space!

Yeah, pumpkins definitely take up the space. I just got some zucchini and yellow squash today and it tasted so good. I already gave some to my mom. You are right, it is very satisfying...gives me the sense of accomplishment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67878.14
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64