Few Tips For A First-Time Vegan

in #veganwednesday7 years ago (edited)

These tips are in no particular order, some are practical, others are philosophical, but I think all are useful. Ready?

Start with an open mind. There's no surer way to guarantee failure than to go into it with a bad attitude. Unfortunately, this is not something that's easy for many folks to do.

If you think that vegetarianism will be a punishment, or you will not last, then it will be, and you will not. I hope this whole article will help at least a few people realize that this is not necessarily the case.

If you cook at home, give yourself extra time to cook, especially at the beginning. Look at your kitchen. Is it full of meat spices, dried noodles, rice, potatoes, etc. If so, you will have an interesting time to cook.

Avoid convenience foods. I've yet to taste a vegan convenience product that I've liked. Regular frozen foods are bad enough. Vegan ones are simply abysmal.
Take a walk down the produce section. Being a vegetarian is the perfect excuse for a variety of vegetables you have never eaten regularly.

The key to being a successful vegan is to live the lifestyle as much as is reasonably possible. Maybe some people do not agree with me, but if you have just realized that you are not careful to eat some butter, or you just tasted the curry which has fish sauce, do not kill yourself.

Stay strong. The first few days might be tough, but once you get into the swing of things, it becomes easier and easier.

Don't judge others. So you do not agree with someone else's lifestyle choice. So? You are not perfect. The best way to help people win is to teach by action, do not lecturing.

Thankyou for reading
Comment, Upvote, Resteem

Sort:  

YES! I love these kind of posts. I had the hardest time going vegan haha I failed so many times. But now I have been a vegan for almost 1 year. The trick was to just eat everything as long as it was vegan (non-label vegan). I discovered veganism on youtube and everybody was doing these crazy HCLF, no oil, no salt diets back then. So I thought I had to do these as well in order to be successful. Big mistake.

Yeah .... It is hard to follow veganism when everybody has a different meaning for it .... It was nice t hear about your journey ,,

Great post

I consider myself a part-time vegan... i know it sounds lame, but i do make a big effort to eat less meat, and no pork or beef. many days i eat no meat at all. our biggest issue is we still eat a lot of eggs. peace / good luck

I'm with you! I definitely eat less meat, but it's not easy giving it up 100% - I never eat pork, but beef or chicken a couple times a week on average. I'm ok with that for now, My last girlfriend was vegan and she told me it took her about a year to fully transition. It's honestly a whole different lifestyle so incremental changes are the best way to go about it.

PS - I eat eggs literally every day - would really be tough to give those up!

Aah ... Eggs .... the taste of an omlette in the breakfast surely make the day better

@viralcontent Inspiring post! Support and positivity like this will go a long way in raising awareness. Being patient, open-minded, and love yourself! I support all vegans and aspiring vegans. We are here for you :) Namste

Thanks for sharing

Being vegetarian is always link to a healthy living, but we still need to consume some meat to live healthy.

First tip: Do not become a vegan... If you were starving, you would no have problem putting a bullet in a cows head.

Excellent addition to #veganwednesday! I love the initiate and the attention veganism is receiving!

This is so true. The part about keeping an open mind is important!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89