From Failure To Pure Bliss - Yummy Banana Bread!

in #veganwednesday7 years ago (edited)

Hi friends! It's #veganwednesday today, you know what that means? Everything vegan will be flooding Steemit! 💃💃💃From stories, recipes, photos, just about everything, but everything is vegan. This fun sharing day is initiated by @heart-to-heart I encourage you to check her blog out, she always has the coolest stories to blog about. You don't have to be vegan to join us, you know 😉 We are super friendly and funny fun bunch 😀🦉🌸🍓

Today I am sharing you a story of how I tried veganizing a cookie recipe I found online and failed miserably. The cookies are described to be 'melt in your mouth'; now I love those kinds of cookies, would save my teeth instead biting rock hard cookies, am I right? 😂

And yes! The cookies really did melt it my mouth, but that wasn't the BEST part (I am being sarcastic here). They melt as soon as I placed the baking sheet inside the oven!😫😫😫😫 Yep, they lost their shape and became one big messiness instead 😅😅😅 I couldn't even remove the cookies from the parchment paper without them crumbling misserably.

What a stressful day, mainly because I had to get the vegan sprinkles from overseas, and that wasn't cheap 😂😂😂 Canadian jimmies/sprinkles, most of them have shellac or unspecified food coloring, sadly. So my best bet would always be looking online = $$$ le sigh

So my husband said instead throwing them into the bin, he asked me to make banana bread for the boys and add the crumbled cookies into the batter as he really liked the butterscotch flavor (the original cookies are vanilla flavored).

Anyhoo, here is the banana bread with cookie crumbs in it. It is a good banana bread which I believe the cookies only added extra sweetness, that's about it. You can definitely omit the cookies!

1/2 tsp maple essence (or vanilla)
11 cookies (optional) - recipe below

Preheat oven 350F

Mix dry ingredients plus 5 cookie-crumbs

1505900324467.jpg

Mix wet ingredients plus bananas

1505900356124.jpg

Combine both

1505900432132.jpg

Pour half into loaf pan (if using silicone no need to grease, if others grease) top with 3 cookies, then pour the rest of the batter covering the cookies

1505900455971.jpg

Top with another 3 cookies

1505900479991.jpg

Bake for 1 H or until knife inserted in center comes out clean

1505900522825.jpg

Cool on rack

Failed Veganized Viennese Fingers

200 g ap white flour
2 tsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp BP
100 g solid coconut oil
100 g vegetable shortening
50 g icing sugar
A couple drops of butterscotch oil (or vanilla essence)

Mix dry ingredients
Beat sugar and fat for 5 mins, beat in oil
Stir in dry ingredients
Spoon into piping bag and pipe on parchment lined/greased pan
Bake in preheated 350 F for 10-15 mins (I had to bake longer to see if I could save the failed texture of the cookies, didn't work as well lol)

1505900649856.jpg

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thekitchenfairy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64159.93
ETH 3482.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50