Veganwednesday contest - Caramelized Onion Black Bean Burgers

in #veganwednesday6 years ago (edited)

I've been eating a plant-based diet since I put down a big turkey leg on Thanksgiving in November. I wanted to go vegan to improve my health. Although I haven't been dieting, I lost 13 lbs and I have not eaten any meat or dairy. After 2 weeks, I was able to reduce my blood pressure meds by half and I'm just loving the food and feel great.

I've had a number of veggie burgers in the past and have not been a fan. They are generally over processed and filled with too many ingredients and some that don't even sound like real food. I found a recipe which is simply black beans, cooked brown rice, caramelized onions, cumin, cilantro, a bit of flour and salt & pepper. They are then baked in a 400-degree oven for 20 minutes. They come out crispy, flavorful and addictive. I really like that they are made with real whole food ingredients and they freeze well, so having a delicious burger is now always an option!!!

I served them on an onion roll with arugula, tomatoes, avocado and a tahini sauce (tahini, garlic, lemon juice, water). Next time I will have to make them bigger and they got hidden on the roll, but the flavor prevailed!

IMG_6586.jpg!

I really don't care that much about winning the contest, instead, I hope that lots of people post some great tasty vegan dishes that taste as good as these caramelized onion black bean burgers!!! Then I'll be eating this good every night. This contest is a great way to promote healthy plant-based eating. Thanks @heart-to-heart for running this!!!

Sort:  

Farm 2 Table 4 Lyfe

Awesome entry @popsoz! It's recipes like this that inspire others that vegan food can be just as delicious (if not more so) than the 'regular' foods we've become attached to! Thanks for entering and enjoy that yummy burger :)

I love this recipe...Thank you

This recipe looks so simple, yet so tasty! I know what I'm making for dinner tonight, now.

Cool! Let us know what you think of them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72