Vegan Wednesday Week #14 - Mini King Oyster mushrooms with garlic & lemon juice

in #veganwednesday7 years ago

First of all, this is a great contest so thanks so much for hosting. Winning would be nice, but the important thing is showcasing how good vegan food can be and letting visitors learn some new recipes.

Oyster mushrooms when grilled or pan-seared at a high heat have a very meat-like texture and flavor. I bought about a pound of them at a local Asian market and they were not very expensive. The package says "Mini King" which to me is an oxymoron:) I added some olive oil to a cast iron pan, and when it got good and hot, added the mushrooms making sure I didn't crowd them (you may have to make 2 batches). I added a pinch of kosher salt and coarsely ground pepper and let them be for about 5 minutes until browned. I then turned them over and cooked them for another 3 minutes. I then shut off the heat and added some thyme and freshly crushed garlic and gave them a stir for about a minute until fragrant. I served them with a squeeze of lemon and they tasted amazing!!! Serve as an appetizer or side.

IMG_6940.JPG

Sort:  

Mmmmmm first of all I LOVE MUSHROOMS and garlic... I never would have thought to mix in lemon but given that mucho sea food does it that way, I expect it's delicious and will have to try for myself soon :)

Congratulations @popsoz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72