Green Power Tofu Scramble--Spreading some love for #veganwednesday!

Once again Wednesday has come and gone, but I want to make sure to continue to spread the love started by @heart-to-heart for the #veganwednesday challenge.  Between this and @lenasveganliving #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge, I continue to feel more and more connected to all of you other fantastic veg-heads on here!  Though @heart-to-heart will be taking off for a bit soon, I will definitely continue to sprinkle my own little proof that healthy, plant-based food can be truly delicious across the Steemit community.

I picked up my packet for a local 10-mile race taking place this Sunday morning that I will have the pleasure to run in.  When I am a few days out from a race like this, it makes me pay attention even more to my nutrition to make sure my body feels the best that it can on that morning.  The great thing is that since adopting a plant-based diet, I don't have to change anything up too much!

I omitted animal products from my diet because my personal research brought me to that conclusion that it would be the best thing for my body (and my mind, too, as it turns out).  While I have off days just like anyone, running while fueled by plants just feels better than it ever did before.  There's a reason why so many athletes are opting to try out a vegan lifestyle--your body runs so much better on clean fuel.

In honor of keeping our bodies at peak level for competition (whether you compete in an athletic event or just compete to stay afloat in the stresses of daily life), I am sharing a nutrient-packed tofu scramble today.  This type of breakfast (also great for lunch, too!) is always great because it is an easy way to use up whatever veggies you have on hand and it gets you started on the right track for the day.  I make all kinds of variations of a tofu scramble, but I chose more of an Italian inspiration this week.  I also wanted to get lots of green vegetables in this week to optimize my nutrient intake and ensure a faster recovery!  :)

I hope you guys enjoy it!

 Green Power Tofu Scramble

Makes 5 Servings

  • 1 (15.5-ounce or similar size) package firm or extra firm tofu
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon Tuscan Sunset (Penzeys) or other Italian season blend
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 4 cups broccoli florets, cut to bite-sized pieces
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/2 bulb large fennel, chopped (can also sub 1 small onion)
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 cup dry-packed sun-dried tomatoes, re-hydrated and chopped*
  • 3 cups roughly chopped kale or other leafy greens
  • 2-3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Start by mashing your tofu in a bowl with a fork, as shown in the picture above.  Sprinkle in your nutritional yeast, turmeric, Tuscan Sunset and pepper flakes.  Mix together then set aside.

Add your chopped celery and fennel into a skillet over medium heat.  Cook for 10 minutes, adding a bit of water as needed to prevent sticking and stirring occasionally.  Next, add in your broccoli, zucchini and sun-dried tomatoes with a few tablespoons of water to the skillet.  Cover, reduce the heat to medium-low and let steam for 10 minutes.

After the broccoli is softened to your liking, uncover and mix in your tofu and spices to the rest of the vegetables in the pan.  Cook uncovered for an additional 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in your chopped greens and balsamic vinegar.  Let sit for a few minutes to let the greens wilt a bit.  Taste and adjust the spices or vinegar to your liking.

 *To re-hydrate, place your sun-dried tomatoes in a heat-safe bowl and pour hot water to cover.  Let sit for at least 30 minutes to soften, then drain out the water and chop. 

Look at all this beautiful greenery... ;)

Have a fantastic weekend everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Yum I love it and I love (as always) how you give your personal nutritional value on it <3 Thank you for sharing this and I hope you'll continue to spread the love while I am away! =D

Thank you!!! I will definitely do my best! :)

Oh my gosh, I live on tofu scramble.............I know it seems like I eat all kinds of complicated meals, but in reality there is no time for that everyday, so tofu scramble always saves the day.
This one is one sounds and looks amazing my Dear.............definitely must try 🌸💖🌸

Simple most definitely saves many days! I am relinquishing the kitchen to my other half tonight so he can take a turn at the stove. His go-to is usually some kind of one-pan meal, affectionately referred to as slop! ;)

I am sure it will taste delicious...........especially because is made with love 🌸💖🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57847.79
ETH 2291.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46