Another #VeganWednesday Recipe--Slow Cooker Oats with Apples & Zucchini! :)

Cheers to another #veganwednesday hosted by the wonderfully supportive host @heart-to-heart!  I continue to be thankful for this contest to be a part of the foodie community in the Steemit universe, and it is also helping me to keep up with at least one post a week!

I'm sure like many of you, I have a full-time job away from the computer, so sometimes it is a little bit tough to find the time to sit down and write up a post that I feel is actually worth sharing.  The good thing is that most people enjoy food!  If I can at least put up a yummy plant-based recipe, I feel I am adding a little value. :)

I've given a little bit of my journey with food in some of my previous posts, so this week I'm keeping it simple with a very easy and delicious breakfast recipe.  People sometimes think vegan food is boring or bland, but that couldn't be further from the truth.  The most delicious foods on the planet are plants!

I do most of my cooking in batches because that just suits my current lifestyle.  My schedule changes week to week depending upon what my training load looks like, so I prefer to make the bulk of my meals on Sundays and Mondays to have them ready for the week.  That way I know no matter what my schedule is, my meals are ready for me (and for @dksart)!

I usually try to work out in the mornings when I get a break between clients, so breakfast is imperative for me.  I know some people like to workout in a fasted state, but I can't concentrate on anything if I am hungry (or worse--hangry!).  I also like to take advantage of the time right after a workout to fuel with a hearty meal when my body is likely to need the nutrients for repair.  I rotate out a few different types of breakfasts, but oats are always something I keep on the plan regularly.  They are easy to make, filling, and there are endless varieties of toppings and add-ins to keep your meal interesting.  Not all oats are created equal, though.  The steel cut oats I used in this recipe have much more nutritional value than the pre-made quick oats in the store--especially the packs full of sugar!

What do you guys enjoy to start off your day on a healthy note?  Hope everyone is having a happy and healthy week so far!

Slow Cooker Steel Cut Oats with Apples & Zucchini

Makes 8 Servings

  • 6 cups water
  • 2 cups steel cut oats
  • 2 cups chopped apples
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Optional:  Nuts and maple syrup for serving

Add all of your items to the slow cooker and mix together, then cover with your lid.  Turn on high and cook for approximately 2 1/2 hours or until the oats are cooked through to your liking and most of the water is absorbed.  A little bit of water left will help keep your oatmeal from drying out when reheating.  Portion evenly into 8 glass containers to have breakfast ready for the week.  Top with nuts and a bit of maple syrup if you like! 

Sort:  

Hot damn, diddly dog! This sounds amazing! Amaaazing! I must to try it! 😍 Thank you for the recipe! I'm going to 'steal' it into my vegan recipe book 😱 For personal use of course! 🙃

Thanks for the feedback! I hope you enjoy it! :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This is an amazing recipe! It has all the ingredients and spices that I use. I will try it out. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! I hope you do give it a try!

Delicious! Good job @plantstoplanks. Have a good night!

Thank you! You too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49