Another Day, Another Apple! Fall Salad Recipe and my Furry Guest Blogger.

in #veganwednesday7 years ago (edited)

Happy #veganwednesday everyone!  This challenge from @heart-to-heart is one of the fun challenges on here that I have really come to love reading as many of the entries as I can.  A few weeks ago I shared a little bit about how I came to a plant-based way of eating mostly through research on health, so this week I'll touch a little more on another motivator for choosing this lifestyle.

Cue the adorable dog picture...

I don't have my own dog currently, but I am lucky enough to have lots of furry friends to keep my heart full!  This adorable pup in the picture is one of my best gals, Maddie.  She comes with her mom and fur-sister to the gym where I have the pleasure of working.  If I'm lucky enough to have a break while mom is working out, Maddie is happy to sit on my lap and get a back rub the whole time. ;)  I tried to put her to work helping me on my blog, but she was content to just take selfies.

Many people are drawn to veganism to minimize the suffering and needless death of our four-legged friends.  When I started researching the health aspects, it was also hard not to start to understand the ethical aspects of eating meat.  I know so many people that love and cherish their house pets, so why are cows or chickens any different?  I will actually cry if I run over a squirrel in my car, so I know I could never slaughter any animal just to fill my belly.

There are rare occasions that I slip and have some cheese or dairy in a dish that someone else has made, but I don't think I can ever eat any kind of flesh again.  Luckily, there are so many amazing vegan recipes out there that I never have to want for delicious meals!

Speaking of recipes--I'll add in another one of my apple recipes from this week.  I love roasted vegetables, and grain-based salads are great to make in a big batch so I have lunches for the whole week.  Enjoy!

 Brussels Sprouts, Butternut Squash, Apple & Millet Salad

  • 1 cup millet (or other grain of choice)
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled, seeded & chopped
  • 1 lb Brussels Sprouts, trimmed & halved
  • 1 small onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 teaspoon Turkish Seasoning
  • 1 (15-ounce) can or 1 ½ cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1 diced fresh apple, cored
  • ½ cup pistachios, roughly chopped
  • ½ cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • Leafy Greens

 For the Dressing

  • ¼ cup pumpkin puree*
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon Turkish Seasoning

Cook the millet or grain of choice according to the package directions.

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Prepare your squash, Brussels sprouts and onions. Place on a large baking sheet lined with a silicone liner or parchment paper. Sprinkle one teaspoon of the Turkish spice and mix together. Place in the oven and cook for 30 minutes, stirring halfway.

While the vegetables cook, chop your apple and parsley, then place in a large bowl with your chickpeas and pistachios. After the millet and roasted vegetables are cooked, mix everything together.

Whisk your salad dressing ingredients in a small bowl and adjust the ratio to your liking. Pour over top the salad and toss together. The salad can be served hot or cool over a bed of leafy greens. Will keep in the refrigerator for 3-5 days. 

*I usually use the pureed plain pumpkin from the grocery aisle (not the pumpkin pie filling). The remainder I use in smoothies or oatmeal!


Sort:  

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love how accepting you are of slip ups. Its so refreshing. I think people can get carried away sometimes with how strict they are.

Thank you for the kind comment. I agree. I tend to be more strict when I have control over the ingredients I use, but if someone made something in love it is hard to always decline. Also, I think being too strict can sometimes cause more problems with stress or other negative emotions in the long run.

Great post my dear @plantstoplanks! Have a lovely day!

Thank you! I hope you have a wonderful day, as well!

This looks yummy!

Love it! You know me well ;) I think you're sucking up to the judge by posting the puppy selfie ;) <3

Thank you so much for being you and for spreading the #veganwednesday philosophy of acceptance and love! So many vegans are hardcore and freak about slips like you mentioned, that's not my style either. I am not here to penalize people for their food choices! Thank you for sharing your experience and for including a recipe! <3

I couldn't keep that sweet puppy face all to myself. ;)

Oh I hear you! Thanks for sharing 🤗

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Looks really tasty! Cute dog.... Thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72