Recipe: Curried Lentils and Wild Rice with Greens

in #veganwednesday6 years ago (edited)

Dear Splendid Plant Lovers,

I'm thrilled to have discovered your Steemit community today! This is my first post participating in the #veganwednesday contest. I've read many of the past winner's entries and look forward to discovering more. Here's a sneak peek at the recipe I'll be sharing today, to get your mouth watering...

cooked.curry.rice.lentil1.jpg

Why am I so excited to connect with ya'll? I love plants: plants that beautify the earth, plants that contribute to a healthy ecosystem, and most relevant to this contest the plants I can eat!

I absolutely love greens of every kind and incorporate them into most of my meals. When in season, I pick them from my garden. Here in Minnesota (Northern United States) it's the time of year when I'm buying greens at my local co-op and indoor farmers markets. Thankfully, there are local growers who tend greens indoors during our winter season. Often I can continue to buy local without giving up my greens while the ground is frozen.

In addition to eating all things green I like to cook batches of lentils and rice to incorporate in my meals throughout the week. Combined, rice and lentils form a complete protein and are an inexpensive way to "power up" your recipes. If, like me, you want to prioritize protein, this article is helpful: 10 Complete Proteins Vegans Need to Know About. My favorite snack on the list is a peanut butter sandwich (toasted). Yum! Without enough protein, I burn through my fuel too quickly and end up with the dreaded hangry feeling. Who knows what I'm talking about?

And now, without further chatter, the main dish:

Curried Lentils and Wild Rice with Greens

rice.curry.recipe1.jpg

Ingredients

  • 4 c. cooked wild rice and lentils
  • 1.5 - 2 c. chopped carrots (approximately 2-3 carrots)
  • 1.5 - 2 c. chopped red onion (one medium to large sized onion)
  • 1.5 - 2 c. chopped greens (arugula, kale, spinach, collard greens)
  • 1 ¾ c. culinary coconut milk (one 13.5 fl oz can)
  • 2 TBL curry powder
  • 2 TBL coconut oil

Procedure

  1. Chop carrots, onions, and greens.
  2. Sauté in coconut oil, beginning with the carrots and adding onions when the carrots begin to soften. Stir in greens just until wilted. Let this mixture rest.
  3. Heat coconut milk in a separate pan, whisking in curry powder, just until bubbling.
  4. Stir carrot, onion, and greens mixture into curry sauce. Simmer for a few minutes.
  5. Serve curry mixture over warm rice and lentils.

Step - by - Step

1. Chop carrots.

carrots.whole3.jpg
carrots.chopped1.jpg

2. Chop onion.

redonion.whole.jpg
redonion.carrotbackground.jpg

3. Chop greens (I chose arugula today).

arugula.raw1.jpg
arugula.chopped1.jpg

4. Sauté in coconut oil (I use organic, virgin).

coconutoil.jpg

5. Heat coconut milk.

coconut.milk1.jpg

6. Whisk in curry powder.

curry.powder1.jpg

7. Stir carrot, onion, and greens mixture into curry sauce.

spoon.of.curry.recipe1.jpg

8. Serve over warm rice and lentils.

spoon.of.rice.lentils1.jpg

ENJOY!!!

All photos are my own. I love food photo shoots!

Thank you to @heart-to-heart for hosting the #veganwednesday contest and building a community based on love of ourselves and the earth's bountiful gifts!

#recipe #food #blog #foodblog #foodblogger #curry #minnesota #vegan #vegetarian

Sort:  

Congratulations @mininthecity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Ohh great recipe and nice presentation!! :) I really like curried lentils!! Great entry to the contest my Dear

Thank you so much! I appreciate the compliment and your support of my first contest entry. I checked out your delicious-looking blog and started following you :) Looking forward to trying some of your recipes.

You are very welcome my Dear :) I'm glad you like my page, I hope I can inspire you to make some of them.
Keep up the good work! Take care :)

hello, thanks for using our service, please send only the link to the group without any words like others doing.

As a foodies - GOOD WORK

Thanks foodies! Do you also enjoy the cooking aspect of being a foodie, or mostly the tasting? :)

I am actually very good coock. Now when we are traveling is harder. But at home... maybe i will do some recipes in future...

Enjoy your traveling!

I love a good lentil curry! Looks like a perfectly balanced meal to me!

It's very satisfying! Thanks for your comment! I checked out your blog and started following you. Looking forward to learning more about our common interests :)

Happy to meet you!

Thank you, it's delicious.

Mmmm so delicious @mininthecity! This is making my mouth water! Thank you for commenting this on my post, I hadn't seen it but I am going to include it for this week (or last week however you look at it) ;) <3

Thank you, I'm enjoying the contest entries and meeting great people :)

Aww that is great to hear- I am so excited that my plan is working ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72