Vegan Wednesday Vegan Cabbage Roll Soup Unrolled

in #veganwednesday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #Veganwednesday by @heart-to-heart

cab3.jpg

When I was four years old my mother and I came over from Thailand to join my Canadian father who went back to Canada to prepare for our arrival. Up until then I had never tasted anything other than my mother's amazing Thai cooking.

When I was five they bought a house and rented part of it to a Hungarian lady, whom would introduce me to a few non Thai dishes. She made the most amazing cabbage rolls and she always shared them.

My mother started going in and out of the hospital for cancer, when I was five and my father was not much of a cook, so the Hungarian lady always made sure that an abundance of her cabbage rolls were delivered when she she made them. It was always exciting when I came home from school and saw them on the counter in a clear casserole dish.

She made them with cabbage of course, ground beef and onions, then she baked them with tomato sauce. I would imagine that she had some seasonings in the mix, such as Hungarian paprika.

Later in life I would encounter the German cabbage roll. They were made with ground pork and/or sausage. One German friend said he liked them only with sausage.

My boyfriend's German mother use to make them with ground pork, but now she makes them without meat for us since we have gone vegan. She usually puts in vegan ground or mushrooms. She then puts them in the oven with only a little tomato sauce compared to the ones I've had in the past, then she tops them with sauteed sauerkraut and onions.

I use to work for a company years ago that made ready made foods for the supermarkets, and one of the things we made from scratch, right down to freezing the fresh cabbages in hundreds, was cabbage rolls. We rolled and rolled and rolled.

Today I was feeling like having some vegan cabbage rolls but I was not willing to go through the trouble especially since the kitchen is not mine. We are staying with my boyfriends parents.

I decided to make cabbage roll soup unrolled instead, using the same ingredients that I would use if I made the rolls. I used vegan sausage, chopped up cabbage, rice, chopped tomatoes onions and veggie soup broth. I also added fresh dill, parsley, Hungarian paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. What made it perfect for my taste was adding sauteed onion and sauerkraut to the soup.

cab.jpg

cab1.jpg

ezgif.com-optimize (1).gif,

cab4.jpg

I understand that the rolls themselves have a certain quality to them that is enjoyable, but I really loved it this way. It was so much simpler and faster. I really would not have wanted to do without the sauerkraut and onions on top.

cab5.jpg

strip.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome @carolynstahl so happy you joined #veganwednesday, you've actually got 2nd prize this week <3 Sorry I am really busy this week with a surprise move but can't wait to get to know you more!

Hello @heart-to-heart. I am really thankful for this. There are so many awesome creators in the vegan community. It's an honour to be among them! Thanks so much.

Oh how you describe it and the story of those rolls makes me drool! Love the creative and simple way you have made this version of them! Looks and sounds fantastic!

I just saw this comment. I don't know how I miss anything from the young genius food creator. Thank you for your kind words @vegan.niinja

Oh you are the best!😍❤

Love the story behind the recipe:-) I would like to test this recipe but I don't eat tofu, do you have another vegan alternative for the tofu sausages?

Hey there @zuckerzombie. Sometimes I use lentils or chopped up mushrooms. You don't eat tofu because you don't like it? Just curious. Thanks for reading :)

Thanks for your reply dear @carolynstahl :-)) I don't eat tofu because I try to avoid soy-based products because of their content of phytoestrogens, which can cause hormonal imbalances. I had a form of hyperpigmentation on my skin and my doctor asked me to take care of the hormone balance in my body;-)

Understood! :)

Friend how are you every week you light up with your recipes, your story is sad but it led me to imagine that lady cooking the cabbage rolls

It is not suppose to be a sad story but thank you always for your kind words and support my friend.

Nice picture! 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be kind to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 04:15:30
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 389.08/400.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33