Vegan Pizza Party: Mexican Pizza with Black Bean Flour Crust--Gluten-Free, Oil-Free

in #veganpizzaparty7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!  I am excited to share my creation for the #veganpizzaparty hosted by @deliciousplants with you today!  This may be a bit of a loose interpretation of pizza, but you can cut it into slices and eat it with your hands so I figured it counts!  Whatever you call it, we thought it was delicious!

I think my Hungarian Steemit pal in Mexico, @plantbasedmiri, will like this one. ;)  I've seen a few different pizzas with chickpea-based crust, but since I have plenty of my fantastic sprouted black bean flour I decided to make a crust with that as the main ingredient.  It worked out great!  Black beans also go quite well with Mexican flavors, so that was my inspiration for this combination.

I made one version last night that was good but wasn't quite perfect, so I tried again this afternoon and it was even better.  Cooking is always an experiment.  It's rare that I make anything completely inedible, but there are many times I know I can continue to improve on a recipe the more times I try it.  Most of this recipe came together on the stove top, then I finished it off in the oven.  You could absolutely skip the oven if you don't have access to one.  I just liked my tomatoes warmed through a bit.  I also split mine into two pans so @dksart and I could each have our own personal pizzas. ;)

Mexican Pizza with Black Bean Flour Crust

Serves 2

Crust:

  • 1 cup black bean flour
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • zest of 1 lime (save the juice for your guacamole)

Whisk together all of your dry ingredients.  Add in the remaining ingredients and mix until just combined.  Pour half of the batter into a small skillet warmed up over a burner on medium heat.  If you have two pans of the same size you can cook the other half at the same time.*

Cook for about 15 minutes on the first side, then flip over and cook for an additional 8 minutes on the other.  After cooking both portions of your batter, put your crust on a sheet pan and preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit while you prepare your toppings.

*You can also pour all of the batter into a larger skillet and cook one larger pizza.

Toppings:

  • 1 colorful bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 red onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1/4 cup corn kernels
  • 1 cup spinach, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon each: chili powder, cumin, smoked paprika, sea salt
  • sliced heirloom tomatoes
  • hummus
  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • homemade guacamole**

Place all of the ingredients through the seasonings in a skillet over medium heat.  Cook for 5-7 minutes, or until the veggies are starting to soften.

Once your veggies are cooked, assemble your pizza.  Spread a layer of hummus on each crust, followed by the cooked vegetables.  Finish off with sliced tomatoes.  Place in the oven and cook for 15 minutes.

Remove from oven and top with a dollop of guac and a sprinkle of cilantro!

**I mashed half a large avocado with the juice of one lime, 1 clove of minced garlic and a pinch of sea salt.

If you want to see more information about the contest, check out the original post here: https://steemit.com/food/@deliciousplants/submit-your-veganpizzaparty-photos-and-win-your-share-of-5-sbd

Sort:  

Hmm the black bean flour again. really should try to find it somewhere. another yum looking recipe.

I'm on a bit of a kick with it. Haha! It is turning out quite well, so definitely worth it! 😄

I really love the cauliflower ones, but I would love to try another kind! Tip!

Thanks Denise!! I actually haven't tried the cauliflower crust yet because most of the recipes I see have eggs. A few folks on here have done vegan ones that I definitely need to try now!

I make mine without eggs. There are a ton of recipes for it. I need to go back through these though!

This is going to be amazing, can't wait to try it!

Thanks so much for the compliment!

Really cool post my girlfriend would love that pizza she is a vegetarian!! followed and up voted looking forward to more post! I'm new to steemit and trying to get my blog out there if you get the chance please check it out I think you will enjoy it!

Thanks so much! I hope you guys give it a try! Making my rounds on here, so I will definitely stop by your page shortly!

That's making my mouth water. I wish I had an oven. I have never even thought of black bean flour. What a great idea.

I am so tied to my oven, it's hard to imagine not having one! I bet you make it work well! You can absolutely just do these on the stove top. Just cook your veggies in a skillet until they are done to your liking or stick with raw toppings. 😉

Never seen pizza crusts like that. How different are they from "regular" pizzaz in taste?

It's definitely a departure from regular pizza as far as the crust. More bread-like I would say. If you are looking for a New York style pizza, this definitely isn't it, but if you have an open mind give it a try! :)

Always up for new things + got a girlfriend who is vegan who would absolutely love this as a suprise on upcoming valentines day! Thx! :)

That is so sweet of you to make something for her! I'm sure she'll love it!

Will you make it heart shaped? Tee hee.

Hahaha, might aswell!

This is absolutely cute. He he well done this personal size pizzas looks amazing. That is great you can a few and put then in the freezer, and take them out when need. You are great, definitely buying black been fen flour next weekend.. congratulations!!

Thanks Maru! I am making the most out of my black bean flour! I am happy to find it is so versatile since it is such a healthy option. :)

Well done!!👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

I want to try this! I once made a successful Caullyflower crust for Vegan pizza. Thank you for sharing this.

Thanks so much for checking it out! I hope you give it a try. I need to try some with the cauliflower crust, too! Oh and I love Portland by the way! :)

wow really innovative approach to the subject PIZZA:) Looks awesome!

Thanks so much! I figured it might be a stretch to really call it pizza, but it's delicious regardless! 🤣

oh wow... that is pretty neat. I had no idea there was such a thing about the black bean pizza crust. those veggies look delicious to boot...

I just decided to go for it and happily it turned out well! Glad you think it looks good, too! 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31