Tasty Vegan Crab Cakes

in #veganism8 years ago

One sunny afternoon my wife and I went out to the local grocery store to buy some fresh seafood. We were walking down the frozen health food aisle and came across something that caught our eyes. The package said Vegan Crab Cake. When we saw this package we laughed, but I curiously picked up the package to read the contents and nutritional information. Several things on the package increased our curiosity. This includes; no cholesterol, 0 trans fat, low saturated fat and a good source of fiber. We saw that the company that produced this product is called Sophie’s Kitchen. We both never heard of the company so on our smartphones we typed in the company’s website to get more information. We reviewed the website briefly in the store and was impressed with what we saw. Right in front of the box of Vegan Crab cakes in the grocer’s freezer was a tear pad of $1.00 off coupons for the Vegan Crab Cakes. That tear pad sealed the deal. My wife tore off one coupon and we ended up purchasing the box of Vegan Crab cakes.

A couple of days later we decided to have the vegan crab cakes for dinner. We followed the preparation directions on the box and the crab cakes came out crispy and looked exactly like they do in the picture on the product box. We made a salad and a baked potato to go along with the vegan crab cakes. In keeping with the vegan theme we added some vegan tartar sauce to go on top of the vegan crab cakes. We sat down and took our first bite of the crab cakes. The crab cake not only tasted good, but had a distinct taste as if it had just come out of the ocean. We were thoroughly impressed. We picked up the phone and called our family and friends telling them about this tasty food that we discovered at the grocery store. We are sure some of them will try this food item out. A week later we were at the same store again and walked down the same frozen health food aisle. We not only saw the Vegan Crab Cake, but we also saw Breaded Vegan Shrimp. Again there was a tear pad of $1.00 off coupons for Sophie’s Kitchen products. This time we used one for another box of Vegan Crab Cake and one for a box of Breaded Vegan Shrimp. Now we have another new dish to try. We can’t wait to dig in.

Sort:  

So, I've gotta know... what's in them?! You were brave to try them :)

It was worth the risk.

To me...this screams genius marketing. Somehow we have to tap into this sense of ridiculous curiosity that forces people to buy our product. You were just looking for an excuse to buy and the coupon gave you one. But, it was your curiosity that ultimately made the purchase for you.

Fascinating.

Wow. I'm on the Oregon coast and we pretty much get fresh Dungeness crabs when ever we want and I would probably be severely punished for this but I would like to try both the crab and the shrimp. I'll see if they are even available around here...

Definitely good marketing and they now have a customer for life.

Vegan Crab cakes, I would love to try them!

I am going to keep me out for these. Never had a crab cake in my life because I'm allergic to shellfish and vegan now. I'm intrigued.

Hmm, coming up on my 1 year vegan anniversary.. and my 30 year shellfish allergy anniversary.. This gives me an idea! Soy free too? great.. but GMO?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98