Sunday Mornings at the Sanctuary - 1/21/18

in #vegan6 years ago

Next month marks two years that I've been volunteering at an animal sanctuary. If you have the opportunity to do so, I highly recommend you take it. I truly believe that volunteering at an animal sanctuary is one of the most important things you can do as an animal advocate.

farm 1.jpg

Here's myself mucking out our brand new alpaca paddock. I love the natural light coming in. I don't think I'd mind inhabiting this space. I wonder how the alpacas would feel about adding in a new roommate.

farm 4.jpg

You have never felt true happiness until you've held a cute little duck who keeps moving his legs like he's swimming even though there's no water in sight.

farm 3.jpg

Shelia here is our eldest sheep and she gets lots of extra loving and snacks each day (plus some medications) to ensure that she is happy and healthy. When she sees you coming she immediately gets up to inquire about what it is that you have to give her. She especially loves room temperature oatmeal, mushy bananas and yummy grain.

farm 2.jpg

Our peahen Nina here is adorable, inquisitive and a true miracle. Not too long ago Nina became egg-bound and had to have surgery to remove the egg, and another broken egg, out from her. Everyone was extremely worried about her, but none so much as her dashing mate Cheech. Nina is doing great now is completely back to her old self.

farm 5.jpg

You've always gotta finish off a productive day at the sanctuary with some delicious, and well deserved, vegan noms.

Sort:  

I would love to volunteer at an animal sanctuary 🐑🐖💚🐓🐿

Shelia is so beautiful and she looks spoilt. ⭐️

The sandwich and fries look so yummy 🤤 I am looking forward to more of your posts. 💚

Thanks for your engagement! Enjoyed reading your article.

Glad to hear you enjoyed reading it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37