Gua Burger [+Recipe] 🍔 #VeganBurgerConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

This amazing burger was my lunch today and it is my entry for the #VeganBurgerContest. It is a soft chinese steamed bun, with a mango curry sauce, five spice jackfruit, chinese cabbage, spring onions, mung bean sprouts, cilantro and crushed peanuts.

DSCF5878'.jpg

What is it?

The burger is a reconstructed Gua Bao, which is normally a little dough pocket which is filled. Just like this one I made a few months ago:

DSCF5299'.jpg

But for the burger contest I decided to try a burger shape and it worked just fine. It was actually easier to make the buns, because there was not much shaping to do.

This is one of my favorite meals of all time, so be sure to try it!

Recipe:

This recipe is not mine. I made the dough and the jackfruit according to a recipe by Mary's test kitchen. Here is the recipe video:

But I added some toppings which I knew from the first gua bao I ever ate. The curry sauce is bought, because I'm bad at making sauces taste good 😂

This was our final lunch situation:

DSCF5874'.jpg

Other good toppings would be:

  • fresh sprouts
  • mango
  • tofu

Please give these gua bao's a try and see for yourself how amazingly tasty they are!

Sort:  

Hi, How are your studies? Wie läuft das Studium?

Grade ist klausurenphase, also eher stressig :(

Oh no, viel Erfolg! B12 nicht vergessen :)

Woah this looks amazing! 🤤 I have never used jackfruit on a burger before so I will definitely give this a try! 🍔

Thanks for your entry, the photos look amazing! Where did you get those steamed buns? They look so good.

Thank you :) the steamed buns are homemade

Looks delicious!! I've never tried jackfruit in a burger but I'm sure it tastes amazing! :)

You should give it a try if you can find some :)

Yes you should :D but at least in Berlin there is a big selection of vegan food to get

Berlin is the perfect place for vegans in Germany, it's actually one of the reasons why I moved here!

Still, I should really get a kitchen :)

Congratulations @veganstudent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79