Vegans are crazy, obsessed, and they want everyone else to be vegan too!!! Right?!?

in #vegan7 years ago

Hey! So, being vegan, I've heard this lot. Either on social media or just hearing in-person conversations about veganism, this is an opinion shared by some people, even if they don't know what veganism is actually about.
I want to offer a brief window into where some of this stigmatic vegan behavior might be coming from.
When you find something beautiful, you might tap a loved one or friend on the shoulder and tell them to turn and look.
When you hear AMAZING, exciting news, you might tell someone to share it and spread the word.
When you try out the new local bar or restaurant and have a great time, you might recommend it to a neighbor or friend to visit.
Veganism is the same way. The choice to be vegan can be inspired by many things. Generally, there are physical rewards, health benefits, emotional gratification, and more benefits that many happy vegans experience. Also, contrary to some popular thought, the food is delicious and fulfilling. Wanting to help people be OPEN to the possibilities of enjoying this lifestyle is as natural as seeing a new movie and loving it so much that you can't help but tell your pals to go and see it. If someone is encouraging you to go vegan, it's because they care about you.... and you'd be easier to hang out with because you'd have an easier time finding a place to enjoy food together.
That's likely also not the only reason. Veganism, the term, was coined by animal activists. Without this ethical piece, it's more like a plant-based diet. Veganism itself refers to the lifestyle that does its best to avoid any type of cruelty to animals by way of not purchasing or using anything with animal byproduct. Many vegans also put effort into avoiding products that were tested on animals. This is important to many people because animals are extremely vulnerable and can't speak up for themselves. Human beings are able to live perfectly healthy and thriving lives without causing pain or suffering to the most vulnerable. Animals are cognitive beings that have feelings, family dynamics, and empathy. Why not stop participating in something so negative and unnecessary?
The other reasons that people encourage others to go vegan are in hopes of making the world a better place for people... literally. The amount of water and energy waste, as well as the pollution that takes place for the purpose of meat and dairy, is unbelievable. I was surprised to learn this myself! Some people are concerned about population overgrowth and world hunger. The problem is NOT that there isn't enough food, but the lifestyle standards that we hold involve unsustainable requirements and cause immense food waste. A plant-based diet is entirely more sustainable globally.

I really tried to be brief! If you have any other questions, it's easy to research, or you can send them my way! Again, if someone is encouraging you to look into plant-based lifestyles, there is likely a good reason behind it. Please open your mind and heart to the possibilities!

Sort:  

Thank you for this brief yet detailed explanation of veganism. My husband and I have thought about going vegan before but never committed to it. This may be something we consider one day. I know the health benefits are true. I have seen someone switch over to this lifestyle and witnessed their ailments and illness be cured by it. It’s amazing how just what we eat can cause a huge difference in our health and bodies. I believe most of the illnesses we have today are caused by the foods we eat.

You are very welcome! I completely agree. My interest was kind of amplified when my father was diagnosed with cancer, and I educated myself much more on the topic.
I encourage you guys to playfully and romantically experiment and explore vegan food. I wouldn't be surprised if much of what you eat already would be considered "vegan". If you go out to eat, see if there are vegan/vegetarian restaraunts in your area and give it a try. If you're on any other social media pages or are into cook books, check out some yummy looking vegan recipes and try one out one day. You don't have to dive in and change overnight, but it's just food. You lose nothing by simply having new experiences, and you never know what could happen!
Also, I'm not THE healthiest vegan. Vegan doesn't automatically mean healthy. There are other subcategories, and please let me know if you'd like more info! I'm still working on being a healthier person, but I'm very happy with my lifestyle. Let me know if I could be any more supportive!

Yes that would be a reason to get me diving into research too. I’m very sorry to hear about your father being diagnosed. I like those ideas you gave of giving it a try a little at a time. We do eat a lot of veggies and sometimes I purposely cook without meat as a cleansing for my family. We drink a lot of healthy smoothies too. I appreciate your willingness to help and share valuable info. 😉

When you get the time you should check out my post that has some valuable Steemit tools listed in there. There is a learning curve here but you can catch on to a lot of it just by reading and knowing your resources. You can’t vote on the post anymore but there might be some tools in there you haven’t came across yet. 😊

View here and then scroll down to the valuable tools section.

Thanks, I 'll definitely check it out! & That sounds great, a little at a time, and like I tell my curious friends, "veganism is great, why not make it a little sexy!" lol

😄👌🏽

I like this, I have a few suggestions that have caused me to have a few posts that have made me reach 50+ people...

  1. Have space between your paragraphs

  2. Maybe add one to three pictures and post the links to credit them as well

  3. That's all! I love this post! :)

Got it! Thanks Nick!

the only argument i see at the is towards then end sustainable and energy cost. well for everyone in the planet to eat even close to a vegan life style would destroy the soil. which with destroyed soil comes in door growing. indoor growing which in now based more on product cost to run the facility and lights for cloudy days ramping up energy and pollution.

Also.... having a voice for animals...... plants make less noise then animals and are just as much a living creature as any animal that we eat.

Do you have any research to support your first argument? My statements are research-based. The amount of land used to raise the animals that we use for food (and other products) is enormous. The pound of food per acre necessary doesn't even compare. More food could be produced using fewer resources, especially when you factor in the transportation of product and upkeep.These animals and their products are heavy, require large amounts of water, etc.
Also...plants are certainly living organisms... but I can't say I agree with you. My argument was more than just that they are "living", but are also thinking and feeling beings with which we can form reciprocal relationships. On top of that, the meat and dairy products that we're eating have been proven to contribute to major diseases. I appreciate your response, and if you have anything to back up what you're saying, I wouldn't mind checking it out. If you'd like me to point you in the direction of some good sources of information, I got you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51