Finally - Vegan Ben & Jerry's (Made with Almond Milk) Arrives Near Me... Chunky Monkey and Chocolate Fudge Brownie - Tested In The Name of.. Erm.. Science?

in #vegan6 years ago

While I do know for 100% sure that the best diet is one that only includes whole foods, with no manufactured sugars or factories involved (usually) - I still sometimes explore the options for commercially produced vegan food products, partially out of curiosity for my own pleasure and partially to see if I can find great products to direct people to who are transitioning from a non-vegan to vegan lifestyle. Today I finally found Ben & Jerry's Vegan Ice Cream in a Supermarket and took some home to test them!

As you can see, I picked up vegan friendly 'Chunky Monkey' and 'Chocolate Fudge Brownie' - the former being a mix of banana, walnut, chocolate bits, almond milk and some other things and that latter being pretty much as it sounds!

I can honestly say that in general, dairy free ice cream tastes better to me than dairy based ice cream and having not eaten any dairy based ice-cream for a long time, I have no regrets at all about becoming vegan in that regard. I previously reviewed Booja Booja Vegan Ice cream and this Ben & Jerry's is close to the quality of Booja's offerings - except Booja Booja use organic ingredients and it shows. It's not really possible to match the quality that's possible from organic products without actually using organic ingredients, so from that perspective Booja Booja wins.

That being said, Ben & Jerry's products are cheaper than Booja Booja and they are still way better than the vast majority of ice cream products available today in supermarkets around the world.

The Chunky Monkey mix was softer than the Chocolate Brownie mix and they are both nicely balanced - I cannot imagine anyone having any complaints about them in comparison to the dairy versions. :)

Let me know if you've tried any of the other flavours - I am allegedly meant to be increasing my fitness and cutting down on sugary foods, so I probably won't be buying the others any time soon!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


signature

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness
View My Witness Application Here


ureka.org

Sort:  

While it is nice to see more vegan products in the supermarkets, I can't trust anything from their parent company, Unilever, which is a known company of liars. It's probably really dairy-free, but it's the other added ingredients that may or may not be listed that I'm concerned about.

My favorite ice cream is So Delicious Cashewmilk (any of their flavors).

I was not aware that unilever owned Ben & Jerry's - I agree, that is concerning, thanks for the tip.

my mouth is watering. Please do not play too much with my appetite ... :D thanks for this Delicious post

This one is my favorite vegan ice cream too! Literally all the flavors are good!

Snickerdoodle calls to me as I walk past but I save my sugars for something natural most times...most times.

Looks delicious. I hope this will be available in a shop near me soon!

Tested for science! I love it.here in Southern California we have aton of choices. But when I travel to Japan, the options grow very narrow

I've tried the fudge brownie one, it's pretty deadly. Definitely a once in awhile treat.

Most of the time the kids and I enjoy turning frozen bananas into ice cream. Works really well, especially as a milkshake.

Ah yes, my juicer makes great banana deserts.. You just reminded me, my new one does sorbets too - I haven't tried that yet.. Another experiment soon to come. :)

Vitamix for the win! Over 1k smoothies...heats up soup..blends ice cream...over 5 years old!

I have a vitamix too - but that's a blender, not a juicer ;)

Couldn't afford the vitamix, but I'm happy with my ninja lol

I've tried all of them!!! I am actually not a junk food vegan, promise! But I was just so excited when these came out.

Peanut butter and cookies is my favorite, but the browine is great too!

You tried the 7 layer one with carmel?!! Insanely good! :)

Yeaaaah! Had it at my 10 year old vegan nephew's birthday party!!

I saw the peanut butter one too - maybe I will get that to draw my dad from the dark side... ;)

Sharing food is the best way to do it.

This is REALLY good news because I'm vegan and I'll be in the UK from next week onwards so thanks for pointing this out!

You are welcome!

Hhhmmmm yummiii, become hungry :(

Looking so wow .It is delicous food ...Thanks sharing this post

Following you - Building my vegan network on steemit :D

Great! Followed back!

Have you seen that Halo also makes vegan ice creams now? They're still not really healthy, but they are lower in sugar and higher in protein, so I feel a BIT less guilty about eating them ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22