You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Milk Myth

in #vegan7 years ago

But raw milk is sooooo good!
I don't think it is fair to use stats from the US as a marker for the rest of the world.
I wouldn't eat most of the food they eat there.

I eat meat and vegetables and fruit. And I get lots of good exercise and fresh air. My health has never been better.

But the stats don't lie - 100% of people will die. But not 100% of people will truly live. I think instead of telling people not to eat this or not to eat that, we should be focusing on telling people to live. Fill your life with life.

In order to do that, you will need good food and good exercise and laughter.

You may die a few years before someone else, but what a life you will have led...

Sort:  

Thanks for your response. I'm glad you're in good health! Yeah, most of the "food" we have here in the states is poison but it's my point of reference. I hope to shed light so that people will be more conscious of what they decide to eat and drink. I'm not telling people what decision to make but I am telling them to ask questions.

You sound like my dad with those stats lol. He believes that if a steak is his last meal, he'll die happy even if all the steaks lead to heart failure. I also enjoy filling my life with life which is why I choose not to eat the flesh of dead animals. At the end of the day, being vegan makes me happy and feel full of life but if it's not your thing, it's just not your thing. :)

I do eat quite a lot of vegetarian and vegan food. My wife is Greek so it is a big part of her culture.

We only have meat a couple of times a week, so we get good quality meat, including fresh fish.

As you say, if eating meat is not your thing, then good for you. I'm certainly not going to tell you otherwise. :-)

I think it is less important what you eat (as long as it is actual food) and more important how and why you eat. Just shoving in food because otherwise you will die negates a whole lot of the benefits of food.

But enjoying your food and the company that goes with it has many health (physical and mental) benefits that shouldn't be overlooked. This is one of the reason why Greeks live so long - it's not just what they eat, it's the whole experience of eating with family and friends and the enjoyment that comes from that, that makes life worthwhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43