Best Doughnuts in NYC! Come and Get It!

in #vegan7 years ago

DSC00351.jpg

Doughnuts!? What about the doughnuts? When I first started my transition into this vegan lifestyle, I sincerely did panic about things I once loved. A few years ago, I started researching about going vegan and realized, dude, there is a vegan version of everything. They also taste just as good as a regular doughnut as well! We are lucky enough in NYC to have such a huge variety of foods that are easier to find. Even if you are from a smaller city, there are loads of recipes to save your life when it comes to your favorites that are cruelty-free.

This post is definitely for the "I could NEVER go vegan." But my favorite question to ask the non-vegans.. "Is the taste of animals more important than their lives?" That is a question to truly think about and not jump to a conclusion right away. For me, their lives mean just as much as my life. <3 So let's take a doughnut tour, vegan style!

DUN-WELL DOUGHNUTS

DSC00342.jpg

First stop is in Brooklyn! Dun-well is by far the most welcoming of the stops. Right when you step out of the L train at Montrose, you see Dun-well. Everything in this doughnut shop is vegan along with coffee, matcha, or vegan ice cream. I love supporting the 100% cruelty-free spots especially if the quality is good.

It is all about the glaze at Dunwell. It was so hard to choose a flavor that I had to try a few and my favorite out of the bunch was the Raspberry Glazed. There was a perfect combination of sweet and tart that I found so refreshing.

Location of Dun-well Doughnuts: 222 Montrose Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11206

DSC00345.jpg

CINNAMON SNAIL

Stop number 2, we venture into midtown for the amazing Cinnamon Snail! I remember first hearing about the vegan food truck a few years ago and seeing it grow into a restaurant at Penn Sation is so cool to see! This is also a 100% vegan food spot and also serves amazing veg burgers with killer sauces. They are on the pricier side but still worth the splurge.

DSC00330.jpg

If you have a major sweet tooth like me, I would highly recommend trying the Cookie Monster doughnut! The center was my favorite part with frosting, two kinds of cookie, and amazing cookies and cream glaze. SO GOOD!

DSC00343.jpg

Just look at it :D. Sheer perfection.

Location of Cinnamon Snail at the Pennsy Food Hall: 2 Pennsylvania Plaza, New York, NY 10121

DOUGHNUT PLANT

DSC00334.jpg

Dougnut Plant used to be my favorite spot for that morning pick-me-up.. until I went vegan. Luckily, within the last year, they have created their own scrumptious plant-based wonders! Feast your eyes on this lovely banana flavor!

DSC00344.jpg

They also have a chocolate version but I just couldn't resist my favorite fruit flavor. The banana flavor is very strong and reminds me of banana bread <3.. I LOVE IT! Their doughnuts are also huge so I feel like I can enjoy it forever. And look how cute the doughnuts on the wall are!

Side note - check out the bathroom when you are there, it feels like you are inside a disco ball!

There are a few NYC locations but here is my favorite one: 220 W 23rd St, New York, NY 10011

DSC00348.jpg

That morning sweet tooth should be completely cured after these vegan options!

x Hilary

Sort:  

Those donuts look incredibly good 😍 Whenever I'll visit NYC again, I'll have to try out at least Cinnamon Snail!

Yes! Cinnamon Snail has amazing food too <3 I love their sauces.. it's truly what makes it haha.

Congratulations @thegreenervoyage! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

They look amazing :D

They are so good!! :D

Congratulations @thegreenervoyage! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47