4 Reasons Why You Should NOT Go Veg And The Only Reason Why You Shouldn't Actually Be a Meat Eater - PART II

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

So here we go. If you didn't read PART I yet, please do it here:
https://steemit.com/vegan/@thefranek/4-reasons-why-you-should-not-go-veg-and-the-only-reason-why-you-shouldn-t-actually-be-a-meat-eater-part-i

Otherwise what you're about to read now, it's not going to be the same juicy.

blue-blueberry-delicious-fruit-90756.jpeg
Something juicy

Ok you did? Perfect!

As a premise to the Part II, I have to say that I think all of us vegetarians and vegans went through those 4 reasons of the PART I, before we actually changed our diet. Large scale meat/dairy production is a serious issue, you cannot deny. We don't have to fight about it, we have to discuss about it.

goats-competition-dispute.jpg
Vegans and meat eaters talking about nutrition

From the bottom of my heart I think the only ONE reason you could consider to not eat meat is that between them

puppies2.jpg

and them

farms.jpg

there is actually no difference.

Why we love the first ones and we slaughter and eat the second ones? It sounds harsh but it is true. Now I don't think you SHOULD not eat meat, because when we force ourselves to do something - when something should be done because it's right - well we actually don't do it. This, just like empathy, is an innate quality of human being. It starts when we are kids: when something is forbidden we tend to rebel and to want that thing even more. “You should not take the cookies from the cookie jar!”, next thing I'm doing is eating all the damn cookies, because fuck the system!
Remember Adam and Eve? Yeah same story. They had freaking paradise and they screwed it all for an apple! If that apple fell down from a tree, I'm sure they wouldn't even bother to pick it up. Argh, human nature...


An illustration by Pawel Kuczynski (www.pawelkuczynski.com)

So that's why you COULD consider to not eat meat. Those animals in the pictures above will be for sure happy about it, the planet as well and, my personal opinion is that you will be, too! Much happier! You saw that smile on Sara Russert (last picture of PART I)? Come on, you don't see that smile on meat eaters'faces.


Proof that meat eaters don't smile

That one reason actually holds much more and will make you positive-oriented towards a change in your diet. That one reason is super simple and it doesn't need data, scientists, propaganda and so on. All animals are equal! How simple is that? They are just like us! They are all cute, smart, intelligent. They have eyes like us, they eat like us, they shit like us.
From my personal experience I can say that being a vegetarian made me a much more open-minded and curious person. At the beginning, it took me around one year to forget about meat completely. When I started I was like “Ok eating meat is wrong, I shouldn't eat this, how can I do this to me and to the animals? It's so stupid and I'm not stupid etc.”. I was trying to force myself, sticking to some kind of dogma. And a good amount of guilt trip, I guess. But little did I know the transition is not instantaneous (at least for me) and it takes time. In fact with that attitude after ten days or so I was eating ham again. “Oh my god what do I eat now? After 10 days all the veggie food alternatives are over”. That was my mental process. Now, after 5 years, the attitude is like “Wow a lifetime is not enough to eat all the existing veggie recipes”.
A plant-based diet gives you much more choice, you will discover new flavors and tastes. And you will actually understand that meat without cooking and good seasoning is just... nothing (Gordon Ramsey and haters are gonna hate for this).

So yes I can tell you to watch Cowspiracy, Meat the truth, Fast food nation or to read The China Study and so on, and so on. But I'm not a big fan of the "look how bad it is" approach, because it only develops anxiety and guilt trip that kills your motivation. The most important thing is to watch again those cute pictures above and be curious, open your mind and consider to not eat meat.
Same thing for dairy and eggs, fellas. The large-scale production of cheese and eggs is shit. Just shit. It's a sick, unhealthy, inhuman way of production. But the good side of it is that around you, close to your house, community or the couch where you are sitting on your lazy ass all day, is full of small farms, honest farmers and people producing milk, dairy products and eggs in a human, natural, healthy way. And this is good!
So again be curious, don't make your curiosity die in the aisles of a huge cold mall after you worked 8 hours in front of a dusty computer screen for something you hate. Get connected with nature again, breathe, be positive, think of happy chickens!!


Come on dude! You can do it!

I don't know if I touched your feelings or not, but anyway I want to suggest something to read that was helpful for me.


Eating animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

I think this is a book everybody should read. If you want to know why you eat what you eat and where it comes from and why we love some animals and we slaughter some other ones and so on (or why I said large-scale production is shit). It's very well written, very analytical and not at all propagandist. So yeah have fun with it.

I just hope now You'll not raise your ass from the couch, take your car and drive to Burger king.
I hope you'll comment and we can talk about it.

Love
franek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69