Moving day cheat meal: vegan fast food

in #vegan7 years ago

Moving is always fun. But it can be equally stressful trying to juggle cleaning and packing whilst embracing a new place and trying to make it your own. On top of this is the whole food situation.

The transition time is never really that smooth when moving so there is a lot of potential for food to go bad, get wasted or just thrown out because it’s the easier option.

Deciding to pack up all of our kitchen belongings 2 days before a move may have been a genius idea - maybe a little stupid. Long story short, I didn’t have time to make a meal.

After a long day of signing paperwork, organise whites and furniture and moving everything, it came to meal time and my options were limited.

There are the ultra unhealthy fast food options and then there are those that are passable as remotely healthy. So I figured I would get some Guzman Y Gomez (if you’re outside of Australia, this is a fast food Mexican restaurant).

The best option here for a vegan are things like burritos and burritos bowls (without the cheese of course). You’ll get some rice (brown too, if you want a lower GI option), black beans, guacamole, sautéed mushroom, onion, capsicum and corn.

Pretty decent option, considering some of the alternatives. Lots of fibre, nice healthy fats, some solid vitamins and minerals and some slow release carbs to help with the rest of the move. This post is basically to highlight that vegans and nutritionists are never perfect, nor have a perfect diet and to show that it is always about balance and looking for the best option in each situation.

Sort:  

I stopped eating meat for about 3 years and then married my wife who is from the Caribbean and then all bets were off LOL But it's something I enjoyed to get into and discovered so many options other than the meat first diet.

Appreciate these kind of posts to remind me that eating good doesn't have to be boring. As long as we don't make a habit of the fast food stuff lol

Hopefully I'll show her this post and she'll agree with a few Mexican dishes this week :)

Oh that’s awesome. Hey, the way I see it is - the more people that at least try it (even for the smallest period of time) the more the level of consciousness will grow about where our food comes from. Keeping an open mind and striving for balance is all I ask of people 🤙🏼

Oh it was pretty easy for me. I dug into where food comes from and that was it lol I mean, nothing is perfect...But if we can at least see what state our food is before we stuff if down our throats, you'll end up wanting to eat more veggies LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43