Succotash Stuffed Tequila Lime Portobello Mushrooms Topped With Almond Cheese & Chopped Walnuts .. Garlic Chili Sauce For Dipping

in #vegan7 years ago

Hello Steemit Friends, I am going to assume that you all are having an amazing start to your Sunday .. Why? Because I know that I am :)

Yesterday I did a post on store bought veggie-burgers, comparing 5 of them and giving a short opinion on each :) One of my Steemit Friends, @hartsuff1 was kind enough to comment in my post .. He made a recommendation that I give Portobello Mushrooms a try. Since starting my lifestyle change, I have been looking for great alternatives to red meat .. I was excited to give Portobello Mushrooms a try. I was so excited to try them, and starving also, that I headed to the grocery store right away to see what I could get to put together a good recipe for dinner.

I came up with Succotash Stuffed Tequila Lime Portobello Mushrooms Topped With Almond Cheese & Chopped Walnuts .. Garlic Chili Sauce for dipping. I eat garlic chili sauce on everything .. LOVE IT!!!

Here is the recipe for this meal:

Portobello Mushrooms - I used 2 since I was the only one eating
1/4 cup Tequila - my favorite is Maestro Dobbel but you can use whatever kind you have/like
1 to 2 cloves garlic minced
1 lime, juiced
2 tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper

Mix all of the above ingredients together and poor over your mushrooms - let this marinate for 15 minutes. While these are marinating, start the grill, get it good and hot :) Wipe the grill down with oil, I use coconut oil but you can use whatever oil you have/like. Once grill is ready, grill the mushrooms until done to your liking :)

Succotash Recipe - based on just 2 Portobello Mushrooms:
1/2 Zucchini - Diced
5-6 Asparagus - Diced
1/3 Carrot - shredded
1/4 Cup Corn - I used frozen organic corn since I did not have fresh available
1 teaspoon Olive Oil
1 teaspoon real butter - you can use what ever you have
Almond Cheese - to melt over the top
Walnuts Chopped - to sprinkle on top

In a saucepan, heat the olive oil and butter - once melted and hot, throw in the veggies, saute to your liking.

Once the Mushrooms are done grilling and the Succotash is done, stuff your mushrooms with succotash and top with almond cheese and chopped walnuts - place under the oven broiler until almond cheese is melted and browned to your liking.

Here are photos of the entire process of making this very delicious recipe

1.jpg
I used 2 Mushrooms since I was the only one eating

2.jpg
Ingredients for the marinade

4.jpg
The mushrooms are marinating

3.jpg
These are the ingredients for the Succotash - The white stuff up top is almond cheese - I forgot to add the organic frozen corn to the picture

5.jpg
Dice all of the veggies up and combine .. the almond cheese and walnuts are for topping just before broiling so do not add these to the saucepan

6.jpg
I use organic olive oil and real butter when I saute but you can use what you have/like

7.jpg
My Succotash is looking yummy!! Time to get those Mushrooms on the grill :)

8.jpg
Be sure and rub the grill down with oil - I use coconut oil but you can use what ever oil you have/like. I grilled these on medium heat.

9.jpg
These babies are done to my liking - not too firm and not too soft .. JUST RIGHT!!

10.jpg
I topped the mushrooms with Succotash, Almond Cheese and Chopped Walnuts - under the broiler they go until browned. I recommend you set the timer so you don't accidentally burn them (I cannot tell you how many times I have burn things under the broiler). These should only need to broil for a couple of minutes.

11.jpg
My DELICIOUS dinner is done - look how BEAUTIFUL these turned out.

12.jpg
I think this empty place speaks for itself :) Such a yummy dinner .. I look forward to making these again .. this time, my husband will get to try them.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I would be honored if you upvote and resteem. Please comment as comments are so important to me and are really helping me grow in my Steemit experience. I promise that I will reply to all comments, unless of course they are hurtful and or rude.

Remember .. SUNSHINE247 Loves You!!!

Sort:  

looks great ! would it taste better with longer time marinating the mushrooms ? ... upvoted =)

Maybe a little longer on the marinating but it had a pretty strong taste with just the 15 minutes - you definately could tell the taste of the tequila and lime :) But a little longer is fine too :) Thanks for visiting, give the recipe a try .. Have a GREAT night!! SUNSHINE247

Wow! I've never tried vegan cooking but this makes me want to try it. I haven't heard of almond cheese, but from your pictures it looks just like dairy cheese!

You can purchase almond cheese at your local grocery store - our local grocery store has it next to the vegan veggie paties, sprouted breads, etc. Its really good .. you should try it - Have a GREAT start to your week!! SUNSHINE247

OMG! so many things in a single recipe. Its just amazing and inspirational. thanks for sharing!

I am glad that you enjoyed the post .. please try the recipe, its simple and very yummy. Have a GREAT start to your week!! SUNSHINE247

Oh @sunshine247 you are just as sweet as can be! I love your recipe and am happy to hear you're experimenting! I would be happy to offer suggestions along the way to help you with your transition, I have studied nutrition and am often aiding people into full and part time veganism ;) I also plan to post a lot more recipes since it's something I get asked a lot and am constantly playing around in the kitchen- it's just capturing it that I have a problem with as I often forget and end up with an empty plate like yours here ;)
You're wonderful, keep your smile! Happy to call you my friend <3
XO

GGGEEEEEEZZZZEEE!!! How wonderful are you :) Thank you for visiting my post tonight and for the kind words and offer :) I will certaining be continuing to watch for your awesome posts!! I look so forward to them .. You really put a HUGE smile on my face right now .. Thanks again Friend!! SUNSHINE247

Well, of course ;) I am so happy I stopped by! What I would give for a portobello... I should try to grow some! You've inspired me my dear =D

I'm happy to give back one of the many smiles you have given me ;)
Have a great day and ride that sunshine! XO

Yes, try and grow one and post it - that would be awesome!!!! I have never known someone to grow one :) Love all smiles :) SUNSHINE247

Haha I will share with you when I do :) I love growing and making everything I can from scratch <3
Have a beautiful day my sunshiney friend!

I would love to see the process of growing a mushroom :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49