Jicama Shell Lentil Tacos with Strawberry Salsa, Guacamole and Almond Cheese .. Street Tacos with Vegan Sole

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Our journey to eating healthier has led us to create this amazing vegan street taco .. everything about this creative taco is absolutely delicious. Its a bit of a process to get these babies on the table, but well worth the effort .. these may just become your favorite also :)

C585BAA7-1.jpg

Instead of the traditional tomato salsa, we made a seasonal strawberry salsa .. I have also created a watermelon salsa in the past which was just as yummy .. you would just substitute watermelon for the strawberries.

42D65266-1.jpg

RECIPE FOR STRAWBERRY SALSA:

1 Package Strawberries - diced
1/4 Onion - diced small
1 Jalapeno Pepper - diced small
1 Serrano Pepper - diced small
1/4 bunch cilantro - chopped fine
1 Lime (fresh if possible)

*The picture shows a yellow onion but I decided to use a purple onion in the salsa instead to give it some extra color :)

4268CD4B-1.jpg
It is recommended that you let the strawberry salsa marry together for at least 30-45 minutes (longer if possible) - doesn't this look tasty .. IT WAS!!!

While the salsa is marrying, you will need to start the lentil taco filling.

18FDCCD0-1.jpg
These are the items needed for the lentil taco filling

26C622E8-1.jpg

A570908E-1.jpg
We choose the organic, non-gmo sprouted lentils

RECIPE FOR THE LENTIL TACO FILLING:

10 Mushrooms - diced small (approximately 10)
1 Whole Medium Sized Onion - diced small
1 Cup Lentils
3 Cups Filtered Water
3 Tablespoons of Coconut Oil (you can use what ever type of oil you prefer)

In a saucepan, bring the 3 cups of filtered water to a boil .. Once water is boiling, put in the sprouted lentils .. Bring to a rolling boil .. then turn them down and simmer until your desired tenderness.

2E21BEF8-1.jpg

In a large skillet, melt the coconut oil .. Once melted, saute the onions until your desired likeness (we like ours a little darker) .. Once the onions are done to your likeness, put in the diced mushrooms and saute until tender

D2C5BC7B-1.jpg
3 tablespoons coconut oil

562C97D0-1.jpg
Onion right after put in the pan

51841460-1.jpg
We like our onions a little on the darker side :)

A4465A3C-1.jpg
This is how the onions and mushrooms will look once thoroughly cooked

By now, the lentils should be done - you need to strain them

26BC039E-1.jpg

We pushed the mushroom and onion mixture to the sides of the pan and put the lentils into the middle.

6FCAFF16-1.jpg

715CD147-1.jpg

My husband like taco seasoning in his lentil taco filling however, this is not necessary - you choose.
F0FFFF3D-1.jpg

Once you mix everything together in the pan, you may realize you need to add approximately 1/4 cup of water to help blend in the seasoning. Then, reduce the heat, put on a lid, and let it simmer for approximately 3-5 minutes. Turn off the heat and let sit until you are ready to stuff your jicama shells.

A01B1AD4-1.jpg

0C8B5B65-1.jpg

2 MORE STEPS AND THEN YOU ARE READY TO EAT!!!!

Guacamole .. YUM

205632CB-1.jpg
Ingredients for the guacamole

1 Ripe Avacado - look at this beauty!!!
1 Tomato - diced
1/4 Onion - diced
1 Handful of Cilantro - minced
1 Lime
Salt and Pepper to taste

DED3AAF6-1.jpg
This happened to be a beautiful avacado

46350E2F-1.jpg
Smash the avacado - we like ours real smooth .. some people prefer it chunky

4938611F-1.jpg

BEC8B98E-1.jpg
Mix it all together and set aside until ready to top your tacos :)

COUNTDOWN UNTIL DINNER!!

Lets get those Jicama shells sliced up

4B910E8D-1.jpg
This is probably the worst picture we could have used .. My husband started peeling the Jicama before I could get a picture of it .. so, here is a very unappetizing picture of the Jicama during the peeling process :)

B9800ADE-1.jpg
In order to get the Jicama sliced thin enough to use as taco shells, you will need a mandolin

50014550-1.jpg
We had to trim the sides off of the Jicama in order for it to fit on the mandolin

187782E1-1.jpg

97432E50-1.jpg
Ta Da!!! Sliced Jicama taco shells :) Note, we sliced these on the 1/32 blade setting to get the thinnest shell we could get. Please note that the shells are plenty thick on this setting, they stayed together perfect.

HERE ARE THE FIXINGS WE TOPPED OUR TACOS WITH:
Shredded lettuce
Diced onions
Cilantro
Tomatoes
Vegan shredded almond cheese
Lime

We have a dandy little taco plate which we enjoy using when we eat tacos .. Make your tacos and enjoy!!!! NOTE: There is no need to double up on the Jicama shells, they do not break and they do not get mushy .. they are delicious!!!

FFE4806A-1.jpg
These are my beauties .. I like to squeeze lime on mine

D2076964-1.jpg
These are my hubbies hefty buggers .. look at those loaded tacos. Notice the 'Food Network' stamp there in the corner of the picture? Too funny, this happens to be on our cutting board .. I only wish I was good enough for Food Network :)

C585BAA7-1.jpg
The strawberry salsa and guacamole is on the side, we add that just before eating.

This was such a delicious and healthy street taco. It is especially great for those who cannot or choose not to eat corn or flour tortillas. I recommend you try these .. I guarantee you will love them!!!

Thank you all so very much for visiting my post .. I really hope you try this recipe .. change it up a bit, put your own personality into it and create your yummy masterpiece. If you do try the recipe, please stop back by and comment your results .. I am excited to hear what you have to say!!!

I love you Steemit Friends .. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!!! SUNSHINE247

Sort:  

Hi I like your post it's very informative and detailed. Good stuff shown makes me wanna try vegan diet from time to time. :)

Awesome!!!! You should try it once in a while :) Thank you for visiting today Friend .. hope to see you around here more often .. SUNSHINE247

Looks so delicious and healthy! Great post thanks for sharing @sunshine247

Thank you for visiting friend!!!!! Hope you are having a blast of a weekend :) SUNSHINE247

I love checkout out your posts and thank you! I most certainly am :)

Thank you so much!!!!!!

Hey there @sunshine247, i didn't get to get your other post nominated to OCD before it wasn't still undervalued, which is our goal, but I'd love to nominate this one if that's ok!

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curator team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if that's ok with you, i did share the other one with them too, but hope to get this one nominated for you!

I would love that!!! Thank you for always visiting my post - this is good one :) SUNSHINE247

@sunshine247 your recipe looks amazing and this post adds an incredible amount of value to Steem! Especially as a vegan that loves tacos this looks beautiful! Would you please keep doing more posts like this because we would love to see what else you are making? I am featuring this at the top of the newest upvotable which you have successfully submitted so many other author's posts to and I am happy to feature you as #1!

Thank you thank you thank you!!! I am truly honored Jerry!! I am having a blast and encouragement like this motivates me .. You put a HUGE smile on my face today Friend .. Thank you so very much .. SUNSHINE247

You're welcome!

Wow Sunshine! How fun are these tacos? That must be one huge jicama... my brother is coming to visit me in a couple of weeks and I am thinking I should get one of those fancy chopping thangs in my Amazon chart for him to bring to me ;)
He's bringing me my dehydrator for which I will be forever his slave and make him food for as long as he lives with me <3

These look so yummy! I will have to see if I can find me a big guy like yours and give them a whirl <3


Here is a pic of the box :) That would be great if he brings you one!!! Keep me updated on that .. Have a GREAT day heart-to-heart!! SUNSHINE247

OH it looks travel friendly! YAY! Thank you for sharing this with me Sunshine <3 Slicing would take sooo much less time =D

What a good idea to use strawberry or even watermelon as you mentioned. I've recently decided to cut out meat from my diet so I'm learning creative ways to make dilicious healthy food, because if food don't look and taste good, it'll be hard to keep away from meat. Thank you for sharing, lovely photos and clear explaination.

Thank you for visiting today!! If you decide to try it, comment me back and let me know how you liked them.. SUNSHINE247

Yes will do. Look forward to see more of your posts.

wow really great . great post thanks for sharing .

YEA!!!! Thanks for visiting today Friend .. Have a GREAT rest of your weekend :) SUNSHINE247

Strawberries. Wow that's different. I'm curious to try making that now.

Im definitely gonna try this recipe. thanks

Thank you so much for visiting my post :) After you try these, I would love for you to comment back and let me know how you like them :) SUNSHINE247

Oh this street style vegan taco looks yummy!

Thank you so much!!! They are super yummy!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69