Bi-weekly refuel .. My steak in a jar .. Eat to live dont live to eat :)

in #vegan7 years ago

Twice a week I make what we call 'steak in a jar' .. Instead of having steak, we have green juice. I keep green juice in the refrigerator at all times .. Breakfast in the morning is green juice .. when I get sluggish around 2 in the afternoon, I grab a glass, shake it up and refuel. Even though I have some non-green veggies in my juice, I still call it green juice .. yummy in my tummy!!!!

DD15B830-1.jpg

2 whole bunches of celery
2 bunches of spinach
8-10 apples
10-12 carrots
6 cucumbers
2 bunches cilantro
1 large piece of ginger
1 large piece of turmeric

*Normally I would add a couple of beets but I did not have any this time.

I try to buy only organic but once in a while I am not able to locate the veggie I want in organic. The grocery stores here in California carry organic, but for some reason they are not worthy of being juiced (soft, rotten, wilty, or not ripe). When I do buy non organic, I always rinse them in apple cider vinegar and filtered water.

C89F2D4D-1.jpg

Start the juicer and begin the flow!!!!!

B860FB54-1.jpg

203C2E5B-1.jpg

EC25FE6B-1.jpg

I have a Breville Juicer - love this thing!!!!!!

E43304C6-1.jpg

7AC3CB6B-1.jpg

Pulp results .. equals chicken feed!!! This pulp is bagged and goes into the freezer .. I see my daughter once per week to deliver the pulp to her and she feeds it to the chickens. Since it is so hot outside, she just throws the entire block of frozen pulp out there and they peck on it all day long. Her chickens are organically fed and boy does she share some beautiful eggs with us in return for our pulp.

B8EFA5AC-1.jpg

Because only so much juice during juicing the veggies fits into the small juice catcher they give you, I have to pour the juiced veggies into 2 pitchers (BPA plastic) then transfer into the drinking jars.

166755D0-1.jpg

All those veggies gave us 8 total jars - I know you only see 6 here .. we drank the other 2 :) Into the refrigerator these lovelies go .. What a way to start the day!!!!

Thank you so much for visiting my Steemit post Friends .. eat or drink your veggies daily .. I want you to stay healthy!!! REMEMBER: Eat to live don't live to eat .. Love you so much Friends .. SUNSHINE247

Sort:  

@sunshine247,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curators!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I'm not personally vegan, but that still looks really yummy and healthy! Always love fresh vegetables! I'll have to give it a try sometime, although I dont think I could ever give up my love for steak ! Great post though!

Please reply, and I will nominate your post to the @OCD curators for possible extra votes and exposure to your fun food related Steemit post! Thanks, and keep up the good work!

Thank you so much my friend!!!! You put the HUGEST smile on my face .. WOW, what a start to my Friday!!! Love you Friend .. SUNSHINE247

Thankyou for your post. I have been vegan for a few months and have really noticed the difference in how much better I feel. I'm addicted to making smoothies, usually mine have a blend of greens, nuts, fruits, soy milk and water. Smoothies are, in my opinion, the best way to get awesome food into your body as quickly and easily as possible and easily adjustable to find good flavour mixes.

Frozen pulp is an excellent idea. We had chickens and are considering getting them again so if we do I will use this idea for sure. It is very hot here in Australia. I am very keen to follow you for some more ideas. I will also be blogging some of my vegan transition soon as it is such a great community to share with :)

Thanks for visiting spaceginger :) Wait until you see how much the chickens love the pulp - they eat it like savages. I love to put fruits and nuts in my smoothies also - we make some awesome almond yogurt and with that I love to add a little nutmeg and cinnamon and it tastes like eggnog .. my favorite!!! I will be posting lots of fun stuff .. Have a GREAT Friday!!! SUNSHINE247

Looks great. I do similar juices but with a lot less greenery as my significant other doesn't like things like celery. But I'll add spinach to the next batch, that's a thing we haven't tried and it sounds like a great idea to me.

I find that if you add a few extra apples, you can hide just about anything .. maybe you can hide some of those extra greens your significant other does not like .. LOL :) Thank you so much for visiting today rocking-dave .. I don't think I've seen you on any of my posts before .. Super glad you here!!! Have a GREAT rest of your weekend .. Love you Steemit Friend! SUNSHINE247

Oh, she is a certified celery detector and has been shown to detect even trace amounts of unwanted ingredients in both cooked and fresh dishes :P So unfortunately no apples can mask that for her...

I'm glad to be here too, and yes, I just discovered your blog here because I was looking for something interesting to make.

Cheers and have a great week! :)

Hava a GREAT start to you week rocking-dave!!! SUNSHINE247

That looks really green and healthy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69