Vegan Lentil Sloppy Joes!

in #vegan7 years ago

Today for supper on our vegan journey we decided to try sloppy joes. I was never a dan of sloppy joes before we switched our diet so I was definately skeptical! I really did not want them but sometimes as parents you have to buck up and have things you don't like! Making them was easy but it did have to cook for an hour so not good for nights that you are in a rush.

image

I was actually pretty impressed with these. I think I would definately have these again. Weird how your taste changes. If you have been wanting to try some vegan options this is a great recipe to start with.

image


**INGREDIENTS:**

• 3 1/3 cup water
• 1 diced onion
• 1 diced red pepper
• 1 tbsp chilli powder
• 1 1/2 cups of lentils
• 1 can diced tomatoes
• 2 tbsp soy sauce
• 2 tbsp coconut sugar
• 2 tbsp dijon mustard
• 1 tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
• 1 tsp apple cidar vinegar
• salt to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place 1/3 cup water, onion and red pepoer in bot and cook over medium-high heat for 5 min.

  2. Add chilli powder. Mix well.

  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil over high heat and then reduce to simmer and cover for one hour.

  4. Serve on bun and enjoy!


Sort:  

Cool idea! I haven't made the leap to vegan...yet...but I am on the vegetarian train. Though to be honest, I would say I am only about 85% vegetarian. I would consider myself a nutritarian if I needed to put a label on it, but the more and more I learn about food and nutrition the more I find myself leaning to the vegan lifestyle.

It all takes time for 100% switch! Veganism is the diet of the future. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68665.88
ETH 2524.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53