Vegan Donuts

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Today I was looking for a recipe so we could have a sweat treat after dinner. I came across some raspberry donuts online here. Since I had most of the ingredients, I decided to make my own version and see how it goes. I figured if it does not work out we are no worse off than when we started. If it does, it is like a bonus! The main thing I was missong was a donut pan. So I thought I would use a pan and a muffin tin and see how it goes. The ones on the pan I dropped on like cookies and then cut a hole out of the middle after. The muffin tin, I used muffin liners. I substituted the all purpose for a more healthy option and used mixed berries instead of just raspberries.

image

image

Overall, the taste was delicious. My kids ate theirs super fast and my husband enjoyed them too. I hope you guys enjoy them too! Have a wonderful day!


**RECIPE**

DONUTS

INGREDIENTS:

• 1 cup, frozen defrosted mixee berries
• 3/4 cup spooned in spelt flour
• 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
• 1/2 cup cane sugar
• 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
• 1/8teaspoon baking soda
• 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons cashew milk
• 1 1/2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

GLAZE

• 1 cup powdered sugar
• 5 teaspoons cashee milk
• a few drops of leftover berry juice

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350°F and prepare a 6 hole donut pan. Grease it if necessary. I lined a muffin tin and put parchment on cookie sheet.

  1. Take your defrosted berries and put them in a sifter over a bowl, liquid as well. Push the raspberries through with the back of a spoon. Put the seedy bits in a small bowl and set aside.

  2. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt to a bowl.

  3. In another small bowl add the cashew milk, apple cider vinegar, vanilla extract and the berry juice you measured out then stir together really well.

  4. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients. Mix only just enough that you can't see any dry flour. Do not over mix as it will affect the texture/rise of the donuts.

  5. Spoon or pipe the mixture into the donut pan being careful not to cover the middle part of it. Work as quickly as you can.

  6. Put in the preheated oven and bake for 17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. If you are using a muffin tin they will take about 5 minutes more.

  7. When ready remove from the oven and turn out very carefully onto a cooling rack.
    Leave to cool completely before glazing.

8.When the donuts are cool make the glaze by mixing the powdered sugar with the cashew milk until very smooth. Add berry juice a drop at a time until you get a baby pink colour. Use the seedy mush in the bowl you put aside earlier as a little bit more juice will have seeped out. Use the juice that seeped out.

  1. Dip each donut face down into the bowl of glaze then return to the cooling rack. We want to double dip them to get a nice thick glaze.

10.Leave on the cooling rack until the glaze has set.


Sort:  

Vegan donuts are the best. We have a vegan donut place in Seattle that is great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53