Quinoa Tacos!

in #vegan6 years ago

Tonight for dinner we had a family favorite. TACOS! Since we are now vegan we use quinoa tacos. We also decided to make some quinoa garlic bites. The quinoa tacos are easy enough. They do not take a lot of time and taste exactly like tacos. The quinoa makes a great ground beef substitute. I love that I found this recipe early on because we eat tacos alot.

image

image

The quinoa garlic bites looked so good and tasty. Unfortunatley we did not get to try them ☹ I followed the directions exactly. Yet for some reason the inside just stayed mush. I even cooked them a little longer than needed. Since they were not working I even tried cutting in half in case they were too big. No matter what I did they were still soggy. The recipe which I got here did not state whether or not the cooked quinoa should be cooled or not. So I am wondering if it should of been cooled and had too much moisture because of it.

image

Well the tacos were a success! So supper was not a total fail at least! Everyone left the table full and satisfied! My kids really love these things.

image

image


**RECIPE**

TACOS

Ingredients:

•1/2 cup salsa
• 1 Tbsp nutritional yeast
• 2 tsp ground cumin
• 2 tsp ground chili powder
• 1/2 tsp garlic powder
• 1/2 tsp each sea salt and black pepper
• cooked and cooled quinoa

Toppings:

• corn tortilla wraps
• cashew cheese
• daiya mozerella
• lettuce
• tomato
• onions
• salsa

Directions:

  1. Mix quinoa, salsa, nutritional yeast and spices.

  2. Pour quinoa mix onto pan loned with parchment paper

  3. Bake at 350°F. For 20 min or until it starts to get a bit drier.

  4. Place mixture in corn tortillas with toppings of choice and enjoy!


Sort:  

This looks very good I have never used quinoa in this way just as a side like rice. Thanks I will give it a try.

Yes they were very tasty

That looks soooo yummy, I have this on my to do list for upcoming recipes!!!!

It is so good. You will not regret it!

Thats look soo good!

These look fantastic, so tasty and different and it's wonderful all the family join in - my lot are so fussy drives me nuts. Shame about the Garlic bites, I have the same problem with dumplings was told it was down to too much moisture so you are probably right with that.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance
rickrollrofl.gif

Oh my fpur kids used to be picky. Some days are worse than others. In the start i thought they were gunna starve but now they eat stuff i never thought they would lol.

Wow, those tortillas sounds amazing, I definitely have to try them.

However, I have some of my own recipes made with quinoa, including desserts and I always cook the quinoa day before and I store it in a refrigerator over night in a sealed container.

Thank you so much Dear @skye1 for this wonderful entry 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thanks. I have done that before too. I have yet to use it in dessert yet

Again you got me going with your awesome Tacos :)

I am literally eating a quinoa salad as I type this! Quinoa is just the best thing ever, full of protein, mixed with black beans... heaven. Ill be to try your tacos too! We love tacos in our house, they are such an animated food.

Keep up the great work, you have a new follower!

Also, you should hop on the vegans of steemit discord group. https://discord.gg/UjenmJ

I definately will pop in. Vegan is life!!! Thanks for following.

Wow that invite says expired 😕 tried to join in but wont let me.

Well just hold on one sec and I'll get you another. I think they expire after a certain amount of time.

https://discord.gg/8ncnvM

There you go. Hope to see you in there.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Awe thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50