Quest for a meatless burger!

in #vegan6 years ago

UMAMI SUN-DRIED TOMATO AND ALMOND BURGER

Recently we decided to try some of those Ives all veggie burgers. In my opinion they taste alright but still processed, my oldest son Brayden on the other hand devoured them and claimed they are his new favourite meal. I am alright with having them once in a while as a treat but my husband on the other hand insisted they make his stomach hurt. That led us to a search for home made vegan burgers.

image

We tried one kind, and I can't remember the name now. Brayden did not enjoy them so we just kept on moving along. I was looking through my Plant-Powered Families cook book and saw a burger recipe that looked so good. It was called the Umami sun-dried tomato and almond burger! Of course I had to give it a try, since I was super determined to find a burger everyone would love.

image

These burgers smelled so good right from the start. As soon as everything was mixed, you could smell the scent of sundried tomato so strongly, you knew they were going to be good. Of course we made them with homemade buns and oven baked cauliflower. I loaded mone up with a variety of veggies and sauces. As soon as I took a bite, I knew I was going to devour the whole thing. Brayden loved them too. The whole family liked them. The kids even took them to school the next day.

image

image

If you are looking for an easy yet delicious burger recipe, I would highly recommend giving these bad boys a try. We were definately all super satisfied and we will definately be making these again.

image


**RECIPE**

Ingredients:

•2 Cups raw almonds
•11/2 tbsp tomato paste
•1/2 tsp dried rosemary
•1/4 tsp sea salt
•1 small clove garlic, cut into quarters
•2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
•1 tbsp soy sauce or tamari
•1 Cup sliced green onion
•1/2 Cup sun-dried tomatoes (sliced and chopped)
•1/2 Cup cooked and cooled quinoa

Directions:

1.add almonds, tomato paste, rosemary, sea salt, garlic, balsamic vinegar, and tamari to food processor. Grind at hig speed until oils are pulled from almonds.

2.add green onions and sun-dried tomatoes and pulse until incorporated.

  1. Add quinoa and pulse until incorporated.

  2. Refridgerate for 1/2 hour.

  3. Use an ice cream scoop and make a ball. Flatten to make a patty.

6.heat skillet over medium heat. Cook the patties for 5-7 minutes on the first side and 3-5 on the second side. They tend to stay together. But if over flipped they may crumble.


Sort:  

Looks like this is what I will be making this weekend! So excited! Thank you!

You have good reason to be excited...its so good!

This was such a great idea and proves that healthy can be delicious 😉😋 got me hungry for sure. That is something I have to try.
Thank you for sharing and I hope you had a great meal 😀 lol
Have a wonderful evening. Cheers!

Thank you. Super delicious!

So, now I can enjoy the delicious taste of burgers while maintaining a healthy diet :) Love the pics.

Thank you. And yes veggies and beans can be delicious!

Great idea, this recipe looks very good I'll try it I hope it comes out as rich as yours

It will. Was not hard at all.

Nice burger. I don't care if it is with meat or without. It must taste good.

WOW....That looks yummy and sensational that will be my next mission in the kitchen ....looks just mouth watering :)

You will not be disappointed.

I always see sundried tomato being added to burger recipes and now I think I see why - they must give the burgers an amazingly rich taste 🤤

Did you use the sundried tomatoes that come in the oil? I have seen different varieties in my local store so I just want to make sure I use the right one 😆

~ Thank you for sharing! 🌱

This had amazing flavour. I used the dried ones in a bag. I bought them at my local gricery store(Real Canadian Superstore) in the produce section.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55