BANANA FLOWER STIR FRY (Kerala Style)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Banana flower are the blossoms of banana tree/plant which later develops into bananas. It is an excellent healthy food rich in fibre , vitamins, anti oxidents and other nutrients.

_20180725_204434.jpg

They are very common in my native. Almost every home in Kerala have a dozen banana tree . So whenever we feel like having it, all we have to do is just roam around in the backyard, find one , break it and take it to the kitchen. Till now I didn't have any particular liking for this stir fry. If I get it I eat it. Nothing exciting. Just like the saying~ we never know the real value of things until it is gone.

So when I least expected it to be found here in Canada I couldn't hide my excitement when one day I spotted it in an Asian grocery store . I grabbed one and came home happily ranting about its health benefits.

So here is how I made the stir fry👇

INGREDIENTS

BANANA BLOSSOM
SHALLOTS
GARLIC
GREEN CHILLIES
ONION
OIL
MUSTARD SEEDS

First things first. Make sure you discard the first few layers along with the nectar containing flowers to get rid of dust,dirt,pesticides etc.

IMG_20180725_202543.jpg

Next start chopping from the pointed side part upwards till the nectar flowers.

IMG_20180725_201136.jpg

It will be a bit sticky. Some people put in water or apply a bit of oil to get rid of that. Since I din't find any stickiness I went ahead.

_20180725_204349.jpg

The next ingredients are some shallots , green chilly , garlic ,onion and some grated coconut. Just put in in a mixer and give a crush .

IMG_20180725_210818.jpg

Add the mixture to banana flower chops.

IMG_20180725_211310.jpg

IMG_20180725_211414.jpg

Add a pinch of turmeric , salt and chilly powder according to the level of spicyness you need.

Add oil in a pan and splutter some mustard

IMG_20180725_211648.jpg

I used coconut oil here.

IMG_20180725_211945.jpg

When the mustards are fully spluttered add the rest of the ingredients.

IMG_20180725_212216.jpg

You can add a bit of water. Cover with a lid and cook for 15 minutes.

IMG_20180725_214259.jpg

We have it as a side dish along with rice and curry. I read somewhere that you can add banana flowers in salads too.
So thats it. Do give a try if you find one.

Happy steeming
@silenteyes

Fotor_151802203897548 (2).jpg

My other posts👇

Ripley's Believe It Or Not Museum

Annual Cherry Blossom Festival

A walk through Toronto’s Graffiti Alley

Walk with me 👀 Chinatown,Singapore [ DTube Video link included]

I ate an octopus on my birthday!!!!

Sort:  

wow ! great recipe and informations !
i would love to try it if I find banana blossoms :))
thanks for your sharing !

Thanks for the read @anttn . Hope you find one banana flower soon😁

with great pleasure @silenteyes !
I hope too :)) see you soon, I wish you a super weekend !

That sounds something very new to me, only knows about banana fruit..but as a vegetable os very rare...good to share @silenteyes

I had no idea that banana flower can be used to make a dish.

And we even use the banana trees trunk in a similar manner once the tree fell off 😆

I really like it. My family does not but the health benefits are so much that we should not ignore. thanks for the recipe and pics. I think, you should try a video channel thru dtube and you tube too

Another reason to eat home grown is that it won't contain any pesticides or chemicals like the market brought ones.
I am thinking of having a channel. Thanks 😊

Used to be my favourite. But a lot of work goes in getting the flower done. Over there in Andaman we pluck the flower petals only.. the mess is too much but the end results are always heart warming.

Didn't know that 😊 Just came to know they are widely used in many southeast asian recipes too.

I am sending this to my wife and we are gonna try making this next weekend :)

Definitely and do share your experience !!👍

My mother mixes this with dhal and does a curry. It will be amazing. Every part of a banana tree/plant is useful for us in a way or other. Looks like you have captured every single step of the process.

Yea since not many people knows I decided to take a snap of every step😁 Need to try the curry you mentioned.

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64