Leather and suede? Why I'm not feeling it anymore...

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

After moving to Australia in November 2016 in the height of the summer, packing a pair of boots or a coat did not cross my mind. It was all sandals, shorts, bikinis and dresses - whatever of these items I could cram in my suitcase under the 32kg allowance!

Being slightly naive and my first experience to this side of the world, I underestimated what a Sydney winter would look like - it's not been far off a crisp and chilly winter day in the UK! Sure enough, the winter drew closer and I began to regret not bringing jumpers, jeans, trainers and boots. I needed a whole new winter wardrobe but financially I couldn't justify this. Desperately wanting to get some new clothes for the changing season but having an in-between shoe size and equally finding clothes difficult to fit my body shape, I opted to living in joggers and gym wear at the weekends in protest of wasting time searching for new clothes and shoes. I have a love/hate relationship with retail for these reasons and ordering online is just as bad when you never know what size you're going to be.

Recently I've had a little more money and finally been able to purchase some new items but on one shopping trip I came to a realisation after smelling a jacket to judge the quality and I'm so thankful that I did....

I don't want to purchase leather and suede anymore.

There and then it hit me. I mean, I am a vegetarian and would say I eat a 90% plant based diet so I am fairly clued up to the evils that go on relating to animal cruelty and even the labour that goes on behind the scenes in retail (this is a whole other story). But truthfully it only just genuinely clicked over the past few months for me to be mindful of not just EATING meat and animal products but wearing them! My usual association of leather and suede as 'quality' and 'long wearing' has well and truly vanished. Morally, I do not feel comfortable buying into this when we have so many other material options available to us in the world we're living in! I'm pleased to say I purchased a new handbag and new boots at not only a fraction of the price but without the burden of knowing an animal suffered and was subsequently killed for me to wear it. THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY :)

To the future...

I will continue to wear leather and suede items that I have previously purchased, however, I want to be more conscious regarding my future purchases. Eventually, once those items have had their use I aim to own a cruelty free wardrobe.

Would you re-consider your buying habits and opt for cruelty free?

Scarlett.

380335-leather samples.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @scarletthearts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm also in two minds about leather and suede. I'm cruelty free in my beauty product purchases. The weird thing comes in for me is that I'm a horse rider and a lot of the kit we have is made from leather without suitable, quality, alternatives - it's rather strange to don your horse with the skin of another animal!

I'm glad you're doing your bit Laura :) I'm cruelty free with beauty products as well. For some reason I never questioned wearing animal products that deeply and now I've seen a new light. I understand your predicament with the horse riding kit, I can imagine the alternatives aren't always as durable and easy to find because we are accustomed to using leather!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31