The Vegan Cheese Files Test #2: "It's Not a Complete Disaster" Vegan Parmesan

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

20180512_150007.jpg

Look, all this experimenting is bound to end up in perfection, right?


Experience is the name everyone gives to their mistakes: Oscar Wilde

I'm not even sure why I'm so obsessed with this mission to make vegan cheese. I'm not going to die without it (I don't think) but I'm curious, and it's a challenge. Can it really be done? My last one tasted cheesey and made a fab dip or stir through sauce, but I was low on agar agar so it wasn't the solid sliceable meltable cheese I had hoped for. I reckon you could definitely put it on a vegan lasagne though! You can read about my efforts here, in my Vegan Cheese Files #1.

It's all a learning curve, really. One thing I've learnt is that I need a blender that can process nuts a lot finer, and I really need to get myself a dehydrator, for reasons that will become clear later on.

Plus, I've learnt I don't cook without some tunes going. We're in love with Radio Scratch on Spotify, which plays non stop awesome reggae, perfect for Sunday pottering. Today it's been stuck on Lee Scratch Perry, but that's not such a bad thing. Enjoy whilst you read the rest of my post.


After a bit of internet searching last week, I came up with two ways to make vegan parmesan. One is a quick and easy sprinkle, as pictured below. This basically involves blending brazil nuts, nutritional yeast and salt or garlic salt. You can find a recipe online : http://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-recipe/brazil-nut-vegan-parmesan/ - however, I was more interested in a recipe that called for richer tastes and using sauerkraut liquid, miso and nooch (nutritional yeast) which I thought might bring cheesier flavour to it.

Thus, I follow this recipe, kinda sorta!

Vegan Parmesan

1 cup Brazil nuts
.5 cup pine nuts
.5 cup sauerkraut liquid (or rejuvelac)
2 tablespoons white miso
.25 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon sea salt

Soak the brazil nuts overnight, drain and discard water. Blend with pine nuts, sauerkraut liquid, miso, nooch and salt until smooth, then transfer into a container, cover and let sit at room temperature for a few days until the flavours have deepened - it will taste richer and sharper.

As it's pretty cold here, it took a full week for that to happen. I made the mixture last Sunday and figured it was ready this morning.



The next step is to spread the mix into a paper thin sheet on top of baking paper laid on a tray. Pre-heat the oven to about 150C and bake them for about 30 minutes, rotating the trays until they are dry and golden brown.

Cool, then break into shards and store in a tightly sealed glass container. Should keep for around a month, according to the original recipe. Their shards looked like this:

image.png

Here's the first mistake - my blender just isn't tough enough to get the mixture into really fine layers. Thus, it was never going to get super crispy and into lovely slivers.

My 'cheese' looks like this - less like shards of cheese and more like slivers of toast:


20180518_113241.jpg

However, it tastes delicious! I think it'd be lovely on top of a salad or as a side dish. I ran it through the King's taste testers (Jamie's tongue) and he approved, although he was a bit worried he was going to have an anapalyatic shock from the brazil nuts. At the time of writing, he seems okay. He did say it tasted cheesy, which is the whole point, right? It was really super tasty!

The second thing I realised is that I reckon this would be far, far better in a dehydrator. I still can't understand why you'd use sauerkraut liquid but then heat it so all the probiotic goodness would be lost. I'd hope this wouldn't be the case with the super low heat you could get with a dehydrator. Does anyone have any input on this idea? I'm not sure if I'm right or not.

Would I make it again? Absolutely. It's delicious!

Stay tuned for Vegan Cheese Files #3!

Oh - and I'm really excited to say that this is my first post as an official passenger of #ecoTrain! I'm totally honoured to be on the train as I totally admire all the incredible things happening on these folk's posts from permaculture to meditation, environmental issues to food forests - I highly recommend checking out this tag as you're guaranteed of sweeeetness!

ecotrain.png


small river circle.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

Wow! U are a vegan cheese guru! Awesome first ecotrain post!

In think dehydrating the probiotic bugs is just fine.. tjey should just become inactive.. like yeast.. since u never heat it they should be ready to go .. just like probiotic pills which work fine!

Cheers very muchly! I thought the same. I am going to research dehydrators and see if I can do just that. It seems an added benefit!! Glad you liked my post xx

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

You will get better at it! :) Here in Chiang Mai there are regular vegan cheese workshops and classes. Luckily the nuts are super cheap here too. I use cheap local raw cashews for my pesto instead of pinenuts. :) Nice post.

Thankyou!!! Yes, I like cashews in pesto, or pepitas which are cheaper. Nuts are expensive here - brazil nuts especially! I envy you having access to cheap nuts!!

Have you got a recipe you use?

I kinda like this experimentation - I'm never one for workshops as I like to figure it out for myself. But I'd sure like to hear what you've done!

Haha, I never go to workshops either, not do I use recipes. :) I toss whatever in that takes my fancy, relying on some basic methodology. I'm careful with pepitas cos unless they are organic, they carry a very high toxin load - pumpkins are wonderful & big soil remediators, but the pesticides they remove from the soil end up in the oil which is contained in the seeds....

I'm not 100% vegan although largely eat that way - so my pesto has x 3 different local basils, garlic, soaked cashews, himalayan salt, cold pressed black sesame oil, rice bran oil, black pepper and (sorry) parmesan. Cos the vegan parmesan is HARD WORK and it just doesn't taste the same without it.

Yes, I make sure mine are organic too - that's really good advice for anyone. Me too - not 100 percent, but I largely eat that way too so absolutely no need to apologise! Balance is key for me, especially being Libran. That pesto sounds extraordinary - yum!!! I reckon some noosh and miso could make it kinda cheesy? My son's girl is vegan so I'm always thinking of alternatives for her - from the wisdom of years of experimenting, it's easier for me to come up with solutions to satisfy her cravings for something 'cheesy'!

Three different basils! Wow. it must taste absolutely beautiful, let alone the smell!!!!

I'm a big one for rule breaking a recipe and experimenting - I very rarely follow instructions to the letter and rely on intuition - sounds like you do the same!

I would be very interested in your response to my post (in the last hour!) about rice bugs and the illusion of vegan. :) I forgot to respond to your question on my other post. :( My ex husband was in the original line up of The Little River Band, was a guitarist with The Goanna Band (Solid Rock etc) and a session guitarist with the likes of BB KIng. :) Our marriage was short and turbulent. :)

YOU ARE KIDDING ME.

My Dad has LRB on vinyl. And I remember as a kid listening to them whilst passing LIttle River on drives down the coast. No way. We knew we'd have more degrees of separation - not that it's one particularly, but you know what I mean.

short and turbulent - yet it still seems like a very essential part of your story. regardless of how things work out - and in this case, sorry to hear about his suffering and passing - they are part of a beautiful web that makes up our lives.

I'll definitely read your post - just ran a bath, and I promised myself I'd get off steemit and read something instead, so I'll get back to you - promise! xxx

PS One day I will visit you in Chiang Mai! Jamie works for Kardinia in Geelong, and they have an international school there!

Only probably one or two degrees of separation. :) Graham left LRB after Curiosity Killed the Cat. He's still alive and well last I heard. :) You're welcome to visit anytime. :)

It was my American ayurvedic Dr lover who killed himself - not husband #2. :)

Yoo me too,, cashews work a treat!

Cant believe chiang mai has workshops on this!’n wow.. i bet theres no chinese people attending :)

Haha... you're funny. :) Nope - Chinese people mostly yet to be inducted to the delight of vegan cheese. :)

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for the recipe i don't think my old blender would be good enough for a proper job of it.

@riverflows this is a great post, ill check out your previous vegan cheese file post next, I'm yet to make it full blown vegan yet and cheese is the thing that's holding me back. Milk was easy but cheese has been a tough one. I'm off to the shops today so ill see if i can get the bits to give this a go!

Thanks so much for sharing and great to see you on the @ecotrain I really love what they stand for and the great posts they put out!

Yay!!! Cheese is easy to ditch. Good luck!!! It's a cheese journey for sure! Next to order some proper culture. I want a melt one too! It's fun experimenting ...

A bit nervous about the ecotrain... those guys are amazing!!! But i will try!!!

I've always wondered how vegan cheese is made! Thank you for sharing this. Even though you felt it didn't turn out well, It actually looks pretty yummy and if you didn't live so far away I would have loved to have tried some! :-) <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72