Demonstration Over Legislation

in #vegan6 years ago

The stupidity of this post bothered me all day today:
Screenshot 2018-11-02 v2.png

Even though I think going vegan is one of the greatest choices I have ever made, that choice was completely on me to make... and I made it. I was not coerced into anything.

I don't see forcing my view (to strive not to consume animals) on others as a valid way to create change among the populace.

Yes, as a society, we can strive to be humane to animals route by creating legislation that bans certain or all practices in the meat, dairy, and leather industries, etc. but this would do very little to actually curb demand. Rather, we need to let people make great choices; it is only up to individuals to choose their health over conveniences and pleasure. Vegans will do well not to force their opinions on others and to, instead, simply let people observe the benefits of going vegan: weight loss, lower blood pressure, the absence of back pain, a better complexion, etc.

I say that demonstration of the benefits of this lifestyle is a preferable way to influence others to be go vegan (and, in doing so, be less cruel to animals). Forcing people to no longer consume animal products through legislation, laws, policies, or rules is just not the way to go.

Sort:  

I'm of the mindset that 1, you'll never gain someone's approval by making a new rule to govern over them, and 2, the proposed idea would only serve to further the trend of everyone hating supermarkets and turning to "farm to table" markets. I'm thinking that by 2030, the supermarket we know now will likely no longer exist anyways, so it's a moot point.

Frankly, as a meateater, I have to say that the attitude present among a lot of militant vegans does as much to keep me from wanting to join the ranks as any proposed benefits might offer in return. It's really hard to get people to "join your team" if a seemingly significant portion of that team is largely adversarial and insulting to me as a human being. If I want you to join my book club, but my approach method is to call you a brainless veggie-veggie munching minion...you're not going to want to join my book club and if asked later what you think about my club, any thought you'd have will be slanted toward the negative because of my behavior and my insult to you. The same goes when somebody is up in my face with the typical "Meat is murder, you barbarian" crap.

Hardsell the advantages and benefits, and rein in the militants. Develop easy and delicious dishes that actually taste good, publicize them readily, and you'll have a rock solid plan moving forward. New rules and edicts in the form of a monarch reigning over subjects? That's not going to generate much good will.

My meat-eater brethren will likely hate me for this...but mushroom steaks are not exactly as bad as you'd expect. Seriously. But, when the first thing somebody is touting in the vegan realm is brussel sprouts and some non-dairy cheese sauce? Eh...um...I'll be over here enjoying my clogged arteries and shortened lifespan with this delicious roast beef sandwich, thanks.

Congratulations @razajoe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62435.23
ETH 3369.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45