Baking Bread

in #vegan4 years ago

It is hard to believe that its been 3 years since I bought my bread maker. In 2017 I decided that I needed a bread maker to make my own bread. I am still not sure why I thought this but it seemed like a good idea at the time. So I scoured the internet and local stores and found the Cuisinart Bread Maker.

image.png

After much trial and error I was able to figure out how to place yeast and flour in such a way that it does not mix with the liquids (water and olive oil) until I needed it to. Since 2017 I have made different types of loaf breads using regular unbleached flour, wheat flour and most recently spelt flour. Here are some photos of my creations:

bread-loaf.jpg

This was very fluffy and had a great mouth feel. This bread was made about 2.5 years ago.

Last week, my wife reminded me about the bread machine that has been sitting idle for about a year now. Now I have the bug to make bread again. Yesterday we purchased a new box to store our fresh bread. It comes with a tight cover and its own cutting board for our bread.

loaf-pan.jpg

Today, I tried making spelt bread. I have not tasted it yet, but it looks yummy!

loaf-spelt.jpg

For those of you who has a machine and would like to try, here is my basic bread recipe...
New Recipe 12/19/2020

3 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp dry yeast
2 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp sugar

2 cups hot water
1 tbsp olive oil (veg shortening)

Place all dry ingredients in Bread machine and let the first 2 minutes of bread making cycle run. All dry ingredients must be mixed well

Add water and shortening about 3 mins into cycle

Check dough for soft sticky consistency

Remove paddle at the end of the knead cycle.
Let rise and bake

Sort:  

Thank you fellow #steemians for the votes. I appreciate the welcome and the encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54