Vegetable Chickpea Soup

in #vegan7 years ago


Today is the second day in a row that is unusual cool and rainy for July. It started to rain yesterday midday and continued all night until now.

Perfect soup weather, I'd say ... 😆

I have to admit that we eat this kind of sound p at least one or two times a week no matter what kind weather because it is ridiculous easy to prepare and it's soooo delicious. We love it!


That's what you need:



400 to 500g of already cooked chickpeas 

2 middle sized zucchini 

4 or 5 carrots

We vary the type of vegetables depending what is available or at home. For example we combine zucchini with red bell peppers, spinach leafs with sweet potato or fennel with carrots ... let your imagination run wild)

a good piece of ginger (we love ginger, so I take a piece the size of two limbs of my thumb)

one or a half chili (depends on how hot it is and how hot you like your food)

1 TSP of instant vegetable stock

kurkuma, koriander and cumin - 1tsp each

high oloic vegetable oil (to fry the verggies)

some olive oil, salt and pepper to taste

This time I took chickpeas I cooked myself and put in some glas containers a cou of days before. If we don't have cooked chickpeas at home we  buy canned.



Preparations:

Prepare the vegetables and cut it into pieces.



Chop the ginger and the chili. 



Heat the oil and fry them together with the curcuma, the cumin and the coriander for two or three minutes (take care they don't burn!) 



Add the veggies and fry for around five minutes. Stir frequently.



In between cook some water. Add the vegetable stock and the hot water so the veggies are just covered. Let it cook until the veggies have the texture you like. I like mine al dente so I don't cook much longer than fife to seven minutes and try every now and then.

When the vegetables are well done I add the chickpeas and let them heat. 

This time I also added some chopped parsley becaus we had some left over from the weekend and I thought it fits.



Try the taste and add some salt and pepper if needed and a good amount of olive oil for the typical taste.



Guten Appetit or Enjoy your soup!



All gone ... 😋

Sort:  

cheap, healthy and delicious! ticking all the boxes man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69262.51
ETH 3679.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22