For The Love Of Salads! Simple Tempeh Salad & A Look Into My Health and Wellness Journey ❤️

in #vegan6 years ago

When I say “salad” you say “yummy!”

SALAD..... 👂🏼

When I was younger, trying to get me to eat salad was one of the hardest things my parents had to do probably... unless it was a Caesar Salad smothered in unhealthy dressing & loaded with chicken and cheese. Glad those days are over! But really, I viewed fruit & veggies as if they were so gross, and I was truthfully much more attracted to processed junk food and processed meat & dairy. That’s scary to look back on now, but I am extremely glad I made the lifestyle changes I did because I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t!

I was on the verge of diabetes, I was very overweight and most of my family is either overweight, obese or morbidly obese, dying from heart disease problems, aneurysms, cancer, strokes, and the list goes on. My entire family is very far from healthy, and I was staring down that same path before learning that there was something different. I could do differently for myself and not experience those outcomes! Ohhhh happy day!

Now I’m all grown up and absolutely love to eat a huge salad every single day. My 10 year old self is laughing uncontrollably at me while I munch down my spinach & broccoli. Little does she know, it’s incredibly healing and will save me from going down the path that my parents, grandparents and grandparents before them have. 😊

And for those of you wondering what this delicious salad has in it... I’ll tell you!

The salad is comprised of organic mixed baby greens, minced garlic, cucumber slices, a BUNCH dill (my favourite herb), radish slices and marinated (in gluten free tamari [you can also use coconut aminos or liquid aminos in place of tamari], maple syrup & garlic powder) & pan fried (with no oil) tempeh strips topped with a dressing of tahini, lemon juice & coconut vinegar (can use apple cider vinegar in place of this as well)! That’s it guys

Feel free to replace them with whatever you have on hand/like

Salads are a HUGE staple of mine everyday, greens, chopped veggies, tons of sprouts, onion, tomato, avocado & lemon juice for a dressing and a ton of herbs like dill, cilantro, parsley, rosemary, basil and chives are just essential to making an amazing salad. 😍

Let me know in the comments what are your favourite salad ingredients! I’m looking for ideas to switch it up, thank you in advance! ❤️

Sort:  

Very nice pictures ! The next days we get temperatures about 27-30 degrees, so a light salad 🥗 will be good idea! So thanks for your Post :-)

Awesome! Enjoy!! 😊

I see nutritious meal! Thanks for the post.
https://goo.gl/HCYVZ9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97