Recipe: Vegetable Paella

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys! ☀ Today, I want to share my favorite vegan rice recipe, my version of a traditional Spanish paella. It serves about 3 to 4 people, depending on how hungry you are.

Growing up in Spain, I have lots of memories of my grandmother cooking paella. The whole family would sit in the garden and share the huge pan of paella she had cooked, and it always was delicious. I used to only eat the vegetables, since I have been a vegetarian from childhood on and traditional paella contains a lot of fish and seafood.

Recently, my grandma shared her recipe with me and I came up with my own vegan version of this delicious traditional Spanish dish. It's really easy to cook and I always like to vary the types of vegetables I put in it, depending on what's in my fridge.

How to cook a paella ...

Traditionally, a paella is made with lots of seafood and fish or, depending on where in Spain you are, with chicken, rabbit meat or just plain vegetable. Usually, what gives it the typical paella taste is the fish or meat stock. So, for a vegetable paella, it's very important to use a high-quality vegetable broth to add some taste to the dish.

Also, I would not use any other than paella rice, which is the same as risotto rice. This provides the unique flavor and texture of a traditional paella.

When it comes to the saffron, it's up to you how much to use. Saffron can be very expensive depending on where you live, and if you are not too much into the taste of saffron, you could replace some of it with turmeric for the yellow color. I personally love how saffron tastes; I normally use about 1 gram of it at least.

The most important thing though, is to not stir the dish at all after adding the broth! Just let it cook until the rice is cooked and the water boiled away. This is how you get the delicious rice "crust", which is the very best part of a paella. If the water boiled away but the rice is not yet cooked, add some more vegetable broth and let it cook until the rice is done. 

So here is my version of a vegetable paella. I hope you like it!

✿✽ꕤ❉❀✿✽ꕤ❉❀✿✽ꕤ❉❀

Ingredients

Like I said before, you can vary the vegetables as you like. Just be aware of the cooking time and when to add it ... This is what I like to use the most for a tasty paella:

  • olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 green peppers, cut into small cubes
  • 5 large ripe tomatoes, rubbed
  • 1 cup of paella rice
  • 1 cup of carrots, cut into small cubes
  • 1 cup of green beans, cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup of frozen peas
  • 1 cup of leek, cut into slices
  • 1 bayleaf
  • about 1 gram of saffron
  • 2 to 3 cups of vegetable broth
  • salt
  • 1 lemon

Method

First, you heat a frying pan to medium heat and fry the onions, garlic and green pepper in olive oil. Then, add the rubbed tomatoes and some salt and let it cook for about 10 to 15 minutes. 

Set the tomato sauce aside and heat the pan to medium heat. Fry the paella rice in olive oil for 1 to 2 minutes. Be careful not to burn the rice. Then add the vegetables and stir. Add the bayleaf, saffron and vegetable broth, stir one more time.

From now on, do not stir the paella! Let it cook for 25 to 30 minutes. When the water has boiled away and the rice is cooked, remove the bayleaf. Serve the paella with a lemon and enjoy!

I hope you all enjoy the recipe and have a nice day! Let me know what you think. ૐ

Sort:  

Omg i liked your post so much !! I am fond of paella and I will use your recipe and make it for my family also ! 😎Thanks a lot

Thank you so much. I hope you'll like it! :)

Hi. %6 upvoted. Send 0.5 SBD To capari URL as Memo , Resteem to 20.110+ Followers ,and upvote,Upvote with min +34 accounts Upvotes. Good lucky...

Hola Phira un saludo, interesante receta me gusta que sea a base de vegetales ya que no hay muchas opciones al respecto, no me considero vegetariana, pero no como paella u otros platos, ya que no consumo frutos del mar o cerdo...
Ahora bien, lamento que no todos puedan apreciar la receta de tu casa ya que la misma no ha sido adecuadamente categorizada, sin embargo esto puede ser fácilmente solucionado, para ello te dejare la "formula" que usamos acá, con lo cual tus posts alcanzaran mayor visibilidad:
Tag Spanish: Solo lo usamos cuando hemos escrito total o parcialmente nuestro post en este idioma.
-Tag Steemit: Lo usamos cuando hablamos de la plataforma como tal, sus avances, adecuaciones entre otros.
-Tag steem: Lo usamos cuando nos referimos a nuestras cryptos.
-Tags introduceyourself e introducemyself: Los usamos cuando hacemos nuestra presentación en la red.
Espero este pequeño aporte te sirva, seguiré leyéndote un saludo☺

Hola dandara! Me alegra que te pareció interesante la receta. Aprecio mucho tu consejo, ya que soy nueva en steemit y aun tengo mucho que aprender. Ya he cambiado el tag por otro :) a ver si algún día escribo algo en español y lo categorizo "Spanish".
Muchas gracias y saludos!

Vale genial! Seria maravilloso que lo hicieras a ver si muchos mas disfrutan de tus platos, o hazlos en ambos idiomas y así todos ganamos...
Cuídate mucho, quedo a tu orden☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43