Recipe: Vegan Avocado and Lime Ice Cream

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1610.jpg

Hi friends! This afternoon, I was craving some ice cream so bad! And so I thought ... let's get some frozen fruits and plant milk and mix it all together to a nice, decent and healthy ice cream, right? Well ... little did I know that in Spain, frozen fruits are not as common as in Germany. I looked in at least four or five supermarkets, but neither of them had frozen fruits.
The only thing I found was frozen avocado, and so I thought I'd give it a try.

Since avocados are full of fats, their texture is really creamy as soon as you mix it in the blender. Just like ice cream! Avocados are also very saturating, so I'd say, this recipe serves approx. 4 people, if you serve the ice cream as a dessert.

So, here is the recipe for you guys!

lime.jpg

avokado.jpg

Ingredients

  • 2 avocados, frozen
  • the grated rind and the juice of 4 limes
  • 4 dates, depending on how sweet you want it
  • about 100 ml of hazelnut milk
  • some basil leaves
  • hazelnuts to garnish

IMG_1603.jpg

Instructions

Now, mix the frozen avocados, the lime juice and rind, the hazelnut milk, the dates and the basil in a blender, until the texture is really smooth like ice cream. Garnish it with some lime rind and crushed hazelnuts and enjoy!

The blending time will depend on how good your blender is. Mine is really awful and I still found some avocado pieces in my ice cream ...

IMG_1614.jpg

Mmh... I definitely will make this more often. It tastes just like nice, sour lime ice cream. The dates put a nice sweetness to it and I love the basil! Lime and basil just go so well with each other... The hazelnuts add some nice taste to it and also a little crunch.
I will make sure I'll always have frozen fruits in the freezer. This way I can vary the recipe, replacing the avocado with mango, bananas, strawberries or whatever I like.

And if you're more into chocolate ice cream, you could try to use less lime and add some cocoa powder to the avocado instead.

I hope you liked the recipe and enjoyed reading my post. Let me know what you think!

Happy summer time ૐ

Sort:  

This looks sooo delishhh! :D I'll try it tomorrow teehee

Great :) I hope you'll like it !

I did ! The basil is such a nice addition :) I used to make lemon and basil sorbet but I loveee the creaminess of this one, it's a very different experience! I've never had dairy (allergy :'( ) but that's what I imagine the real ice-cream texture to be like

Hey, I'm glad you liked it! Makes me really happy!
You're right, I guess the creaminess of the avocado makes it such a good dairy alternative in many desserts, like ice cream or cake frosting. It's great to explore and find ways to interpret foods in a new way - especially when it makes eating a better experience to allergy sufferers or, like I am, to vegans.

By the way, thank you for resteeming me! I really appreciate it. :)

Can't wrap my head around what avocado and lime ICE CREAM would taste like; I guess I have to try this.

Sure :) I'd say it tastes just like lime ice cream, and sometimes you get a bit of avocado taste ... Thanks for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57