Vegan Meal #2 - Chana Masala

in #vegan6 years ago

Tonight’s diner was a delicious plate of chana masala, with a side of a rice and quinoa mix.

Plated.jpg

You will need:

1 tsp cumin
¼ tsp ginger
1 ½ tsp coriander
½ tsp turmeric
1 tsp garam masala
¾ tsp salt
½ tsp chili powder
1 can chickpeas (1½ cup)
18 oz can of tomatoes
½ onion
3 cloves garlic

Start by dicing your onion and garlic, and cook until tender, roughly 8 minutes. More out of habit than anything else, I add the cumin and ginger to the mixture while it’s cooking. Note that since I don’t use oil, I add some water to the pan periodically.

Onions again.jpg

Once the onions and garlic are tender, add the coriander, turmeric, garam masala, salt, and chili powder. Cook for an additional 2 minutes.

Spices.jpg

Add the tomatoes and chickpeas, and simmer for 10-15 minutes.

Pre-cook.jpg
Cooked.jpg

Serve with rice and enjoy :)

Plated.jpg

Here I served it with a ½ rice - ½ quinoa mixture, with a side of greek salad!

Sort:  

This is such a nice and healthy meal. 🌱

I have never eaten curry with quinoa before, only rice. It looks really good! I am looking forward to more of your recipes.

Most likely never in my life will I be a vegetarian. I'm from Texas and we normally just aren't built that way. That doesn't stop me from enjoying a meatless meal every once in a while. This one looks pretty good. I think I would prefer the green peas to the chick peas though.

Green peas also go very well with dishes like this! I love using them in a few of other dishes very similar to this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50