You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly Newsletter - 4th edition

in #vegan6 years ago

I understand what you're saying. Though I have no doubt plants have a powerful energy system, if I don't pick an apple to eat it, it will fall to the ground anyway. If I don't pick the grapes from the vine, they will wither anyway, same goes for lettuce, etc. If I don't 'pick' a cow, it most certainly will carry on living.

Sort:  

I don't believe fruits suffer. I'm talking about the plants themselves (i.e. eating leaves, roots, etc.).

I'm mostly fruitarian. I consider it a crime to harm the plants and trees themselves, not the leaves and fruits, but the mothers of all fruits.

For health reasons I can't digest roots so that's not even an issue for me. And we can do just fine without them. As for leaves, I consider them the edible part of a plant.

My diet is very limited thanks to celiac disease, but I am and look very healthy. People don't believe me when I tell them I have a chronic disease....I think knowing how to get all your nutrients is key.

Nice, I hope to move more in that direction, so it's good to hear you're maintaining good health.

What are the foods you eat the most of?

The fruits I rely on daily are bananas, blueberries, dates, pineapples and apples. I wish I could splurge on mangos and papayas, but they are hard to find ripe. It would be a feast, if I lived near the tropics. Montreal is not fruit heaven...
I buy stacks of frozen bluebberies and pineapples as it is hard to find them ripe and they are very instrumental to my daily well-being.

For the fats I eats lots of avaocados, hemp, flax seeds., sesame /tahini.

Grains: buckwheat, teff, millet

Squashes are in season :D

Leafy greens: lettuce, spinach, arugola

The moringa power has been a super healing and nutritional addition in the past 2 years.

I also eat fermented foods, like kimchi and saurkraut and kombucha. It seems like I'm making progress as I have been able to eat miso without side effects. I wish I could eat kelp to get an abundance of good bacteria, but I'm not there yet.

I doubt Japanese people suffer from gastro-intestinal diseases.....!

Celiac disease is a common disease in Italy, pasta land. :) Entire aisles in supermarkets have been dedicated to gluten-free products already in the past 15 years....

Awesome informative, thank you @mirella!

Feel free to reach out for any questions about eating plant-based. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50