If Plants Are Alive...Is it Immoral To Eat Them?

in #vegan6 years ago

Is It Moral To Eat Plants?

@evecab I have a question for you and your group :-)

Yesterday after driving 8 hours from the hot, cramped confines of the Shenzhen city through the ever-more mountainous Guangdong countryside, I arrived in a small farming community.

IMG_1281.JPG

The residents had prepared a meal of fish, pork, vegetables, tofu, and congee. I told them I didn't eat fish, as I didn't want to kill animals. I feel it's immoral.

One of the guests said "Plants have life too."

I responded that that was true, but it doesn't seem like they have sentience, the ability to understand what is happening externally and internally.

He responded with the story of plants being talked to growing more quickly and more healthily than plants ignored. He said this showed they recognize what is going on outside. There have been reports that plants feel pain too and even cry out.

I ask you, vegans and vegetarians, why is it ok to eat plants who themselves are alive, but not animals?

PS. Many Chinese tourists rent a car while visiting the United States and do their travels that way, usually frequenting Los Angeles, Las Vegas (BARF!), San Francisco, and Yellowstone. If obtaining a Chinese driver's license was simplified, do you think foreigners would enjoy driving on the highways of China to see the sights (The beautiful Xinjiang mountains and valleys, the spires of Guilin, and more)

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 4.13.37 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 4.13.14 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 4.14.19 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 4.07.57 PM.png

Please let me know.

-Michael McGillicuddy
Fujian, China

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55