Let's Go to the Oakland Veg Fest 2018

in #vegan6 years ago

Hey everybody sorry I haven't pushed out any new videos since my announcement vid. I have been sick with a terrible cold that I have been trying to recover from since Tuesday. I have been resting, drinking a lot of Fennel and Elderberry Tea, as well as reading that new book I got called "Alkaline Herbal Medicine". There has been some improvements but it has been a slow and steady process. In no time more videos will come, I promise.

Now...


Yesterday my girlfriend asked if I was interested in joining her for the Oakland Veg Fest. Since it was sunny and I could use some outside time I said "sure why not". We drove there and were surrounded by vegans and vegetarians everywhere. It was a glorious site to see. Recapping the festival, I would say there were about 20 booths with a stage by the lake for speakers to give speeches and do some live music. Scooting around the booths I immediately found my favorites. The first one that caught my eye was the brand called SFELV which had some of the coolest "Periodic Table" vegan shirts. I found it incredibly clever that I made sure to grab myself one. The staff were super chill and I even got a 10% discount for rocking it right then and there.

1.jpg

One of the main reasons why we went was because my girlfriend was wanting to grab some delicious vegan food. We started scoping out food for her and stumbled upon a booth that had young coconut drinks and immediately I sprung up with excitement. Like a child in a candy store I was determined to get my hands on one. Standing in line for some time we realized they were Cash and Venmo Only, with both of us being short on cash we had to move on. Looking back at our entire experience it seemed like my girlfriend knew all along that she was going to get one of these vegan sausage dogs with sour kraut. After confirming that she wanted that, we gravitated towards that booth and stood in line. I still had this thought in my head "HOW DO I GET ONE OF THOSE COCONUT DRINKS?" Immediately she thought "Hmm... I wonder if I might have cash somewhere in my purse?" She looks down, then lo and behold there was nine dollars in an envelope. Adding the one dollar I had, we were both able to be able to get exactly what it was that we were looking for!!

2.jpg
Having a good time at VegFest

Overall my unplanned experience at Veg Fest was a hit! If you like to eat vegan or want to cheat every once in awhile being alkaline vegan (95/5) I recommend you go! It's a great way to meet others like you in your community and try out some tasty alternatives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66