You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anonymous for the Voiceless - The Cube of Truth

in #vegan6 years ago

I love everything about this. I saw this same display in Cleveland some time ago. At that time, I wasn't familiar with it. I was quite surprised by the reactions of my meat-eating friends though. They all expressed that these people should not make such vulgar demonstrations in public.

Weird, right?

I've been mostly vegan for several years now and this demonstration took place right outside of a venue where you can buy an entire dead pig if you like. That showing video of their slaughter was considered vulgar, but not the killing and eating of the animal itself was quite surprising to me.

Thanks for taking part in this. I'm glad to know a little more about the motivations of the group. I didn't realize it was an international organization.

Sort:  

I think they realize that this is the truth but they are still in the denial phase. Which is normal.. we are fed with the information all our life, so when we see that we're doing something 'wrong' (and we learned it was right) we naturally start fighting against it. I have hope for your friends :) Denial is the first stage of acceptance so they will get there :)

Being vegan is a way of life and some people will do everything not to accept it as it's different and they don't have all information. Even after two years people ask me what I eat BUT they still think it's only about the food. This is not true. It's about everything in your life - not using leather, fur, any animal products in cosmetics, fight animal cruelty, etc. If someone tells you that you should change everything what you've done until now you freak out, don't you? :)

The project started in Australia but then spread worldwide quickly. Nowadays, there are cubes everywhere in the world. I wanted to join for a long time and I was happy to see that it came here as well. You can even purchase their branded material :) I'm going to get a hoodie :)

Thank you for your great comment Jennifer! :)

Yes, it would certainly be difficult to change an entire world view under pressure from an outside influence rather than internal desire. I think it takes multiple exposures to new concepts before you can begin to internalize them, so even though my friends pushed back against the idea - it still made a little headway in their psyche. :-)

I don't typically do branded goods, but I might check out the Cube products. I love the low-key approach to activism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23