NATURAL HANDMADE VEGAN CACAO & ORANGE BODY BUTTER.

in #vegan6 years ago

7D312990-D028-4417-991B-FA7327813EA6.jpeg

Natural Handmade Vegan Cacao & Orange Body Butter.

Natural skincare has been a passion throughout my life starting quite young in my teenage years.
This, in essence coincided with becoming conscious about my health & wellbeing, transitioning to being Vegetarian then eventually to becoming plant based/Vegan.
In many way these two aspects of life do really lend themselves to one another.
When you care about & consider what you put IN your body, caring about what you put ON your body is just as important given your skin is your largest organ.

Not only that, what you put on your skin is eventually absorbed into your cells. We live in a world of chemical overload, many of us are unaware of what the ingredients listed on so many of our personal products we put on ourselves everyday EVEN ARE!
This coupled with caring about products being cruelty free & knowing what’s in them has lead to my development of making my own potions & lotions!
It does also help that my day job is managing a store of the well-known Aromatherapy company, Perfect Potion & having essential oils at my fingertips!!

3965D51D-2A4A-496E-87E7-18D585CF5826.jpeg

Making my own skincare & beauty products is something I’ve dabbled with for years but have only seriously mastered in the past 12 months!

Detoxing from the chemical overload has been a breath of fresh air.. using essential oils in room sprays, making massage oils & even balms for ailments.

Cacao butter, Shea butter & Coconut oils are all incredible for the skin full of rich fatty acids which is why they’re definitely my favourite ingredients in a body butter blend!

Making your own body butter is super easy, essentially you’re melting down the solids & then just adding jojoba oil & essential oils once cooled, then whipping it up with a stick blender. Read on for the full description & method!!

So here is one of my fav body butter recipes that’s so luscious, smells delicious & leaves your skin feeling nurtured, soft & nourished.

INGREDIENTS:

5871EF0D-197C-431C-948F-8914F09F6039.jpeg

1/2 cup Raw Cacao butter
1/2 cup Shea Butter
1/2 cup Organic Coconut oil
1/2 cup Jojoba oil (or sweet almond oil)

Essential oils of your choice.
I’ve used Orange, Benzoin (this gives a vanilla fragrance) & Rose.

What you’ll need:

A Pyrex jug or glass bowl that’s heat proof
1 x container to store your body butter in (this could be a pretty glass jar etc)
Spoons

Start by measuring out your cocoa butter, Shea butter & coconut oil & place ingredients into your jug or bowl.

57C28197-8FC4-4C1B-98B1-6A84C9FC4118.jpeg

Boil your kettle & fill a decent sized pot just over half way with boiling water.
Turn on stove to a medium heat, carefully place your jug into the water.
Once it’s started to melt down start stirring occasionally to blend everything together.

ACC7C20F-5327-460C-A2D9-A48566A59E32.jpeg

Once everything is nicely blended & looking glossy remove from heat & let it cool for about 10 minutes.
Once cooled, add your jojoba oil & stir in.

154C3F91-A163-4C93-A584-4E3BBDE0517A.jpeg

I usually wait about 30 minutes before adding essential oils in order to maintain the integrity of them. Stir in the essential oils of choice & pop your jug into the fridge for about an hour.

Once your mixture has turned a nice opaque colour & become slightly solid take your stick blender & blend into a gorgeous creamy soufflé.

7639BE02-0F84-459D-89DB-E5CAFD30F69E.jpeg

Wow! You did it!
Spoon mixture out into container of choice.
There is your own handmade body butter where you know every single ingredient!
Mmmm.. you’re skin will thank you!

1488958E-96B6-4D25-8C40-685BFFA338C6.jpeg

Sort:  

Excellent write-up, glorious pictures and a healthy dose of encouragement and love.
Needless to say I followed <3

Why thank you @paradigmprospect! So happy you enjoyed the write up. 😊

I get in trouble all the time for letting my skin dry up... so I'm conflicted, I show this to Anka she would probably make it and then I get more in trouble for forgetting to use it...

hahahah

Oh that’s hilarious @meno! But really, you should look after that skin of yours.. this body butter smells so nice you’ll be excited to use it!😊

I would love to take myself time to make this myself.. But you can only do so much at a time :D

This is true @nicoleslife.. I understand completely! I’m super busy at life stuff too.. sometimes making a batch of this body butter gets put off for weeks.. once I do it though it feels wonderful nurturing myself with a nice lush body cream! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99