🥪 Vegan Cheese Ploughman's Sandwich 🥪

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, today I'm going to share a quick and easy recipe to make one of my favourite sandwiches, the traditional English Cheese Ploughman's but vegan!

6E5A1DF6-1D68-4A7A-980A-5FA3F4F57FDB.jpeg

Those of you outside of the UK probably aren't familiar with this but here in England it's a simple traditional sandwich that can be bought almost everywhere and originates from a simple meal of cheese, bread and pickle which was served in pubs alongside beer.

I was popularised in the 1950s when the Cheese Bureau (yes, that was a real thing) began promoting the 'Ploughman's Lunch' as a way of increasing the sale of cheese which had recently ceased being rationed.

For those of you baffled as to what 'pickle' is, it's sort of like a chutney made of diced carrrots, swede, onions and cauliflower pickled in a sauce made from vinegar, tomato, apple and spices. Sounds weird I know but it is really yummy!

5D8DE5B7-D8F0-4D32-AE16-01ADBC1AF386.jpeg

If you can’t get hold of this type of pickle, I’m sure a savoury chutney or relish will work just as well!

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of white bread
  • Some sliced vegan cheese
  • 1 small tomato
  • a few slices of cucumber
  • some iceberg lettuce
  • 1 tsp pickle
  • 1 tsp vegan mayonnaise
  • some vegan butter
  • black pepper

Method:

  • Wash and chop your salad ingredients.

0890CA4B-E9B2-473B-A5FF-5CE03EE25688.jpeg

  • Butter 2 slices of bread.

  • Onto one side spread an even layer of pickle, onto the other a layer of mayo.

879A7DD7-DC80-4422-A33E-CD52B5DD581C.jpeg

  • Put the cheese onto the side that had the pickle on it.

  • Then add the lettuce, tomato and cucumber onto the side with the mayo. Add a little black pepper.

4AD3CDA3-A00D-4964-A1A2-B5807ECA7EC5.jpeg

  • Put your sandwich together, slice and serve!

There you have it, a super easy vegan version of an English favourite!

0F29CCC4-B19F-4BFB-B324-A78ED0ABB2A0.jpeg

I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more vegan food ideas and travel posts.

And make sure to check out #veganuarycontest if you're interested in learning more about veganism and to join this week's contest! 😊

Sort:  

could I have these for my lunch tomorrow:)? yummy, yummy!

You should!
😋

They look really delicious :) Thank you for sharing :)

Thanks so much 😊

Oh Mammybot loves a god ploughmans sambo. I'm not to keen but thanks for the post, some of our non islander brethren might just love it!

I love my Branson pickle!!! It's the best! Im so gutted i just smashed a huge glass jar of it!! I live in Mexico so I have people bring me it and lots of other English goodies when they come to visit. Reading this post is torture for me right now knowing it will be months before I have pickle again 😭 I could just eat a nice vegan cheese ploughmans right now!

Ooh noo, hope you manage to stock up on pickle soon 😀

It looks delicious! :D I haven´t seen that pickle chutney in Austria but I think other chutneys will work too, right? o: GJ!

Thanks so much! Yeah other chutneys would work great- I’m a big fan of caramelised onion chutney 😋

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55