๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ… My First Holiday as a Vegan - What Am I Going To Eat in Fuerteventura??๐Ÿฅ•๐Ÿฅฆ๐Ÿ

in #vegan โ€ข 7 years ago

Hi friends, I've been a little quiet the last week or so and that is because I was extremely fortunate to have spent a few sunny days in my favourite winter getaway spot- Fuerteventura.


I always love travelling, but this trip was special for another reason however, it was my first holiday as a vegan!


The first time I visited Corralejo (on the north coast of Fuerteventura) I was vegetarian, and had no problem finding dishes I could eat and was surprised even then to see how vegan friendly the place was, but I was still a little concerned that I would end up with few options and that eating would become boring without my usual vegan treats and home comforts.


I stayed in an apartment during this trip, which is ideal as I like to make my own meals and eat when I like, and it also means I get to check out the local supermarket and let's face it, who doesn't love doing that on holiday?


And what a great supermarket it was!

18181819.jpeg


Ok, now some of you might think I've gone newly vegan mad or something, but I just couldn't get enough of the fresh produce here.


To you this might look like a totally normal fruit and vegetable section but in London our food just does NOT look like this.

1.jpeg


It's actually frightening seeing what food looks like in other countries as it highlights to me how mass produced, (no doubt) genetically modified and frankly anaemic looking our food in the UK is.

image4555.jpegSo fresh they still have dirt on them! Something you never see in London


This fruit looks vital, nourishing and vibrant in a way that I rarely ever see back home and I stood there marvelling at all the amazing colours for quite some time, and got some very odd looks from the staff in the process.

3.jpeg

44444.jpegLocally grown aloe vera


I was also really intrigued to see all the fascinating varieties of fruits that I've never seen before and how alien and beautiful they looked compared to the usual European species that I'm used to.

20.jpeg

image6.jpeg

2.jpeg


Not only did the stock itself look colourful and delicious, the way it was displayed with such care just really stood out to me, London could learn a lot about how to make healthy food appealing by presenting it so aesthetically- I felt like a kid in a candy store looking at this, I wanted to eat it all!

image555.jpegLuscious looking greens!


So I knew I definitely wouldn't have a shortage of nice fresh stuff to eat.

Then I discovered THIS...

12.jpeg

11.jpeg


I definitely wasn't expecting such a variety of vegan meat substitutes in the local supermarket, what a treat!

14.jpeg

Burgers, hotdogs, tofu, pate- I couldn't believe my eyes.

16.jpeg

15.jpeg


Just when I thought Corralejo couldn't possibly be any more of a haven for vegans, I discovered something even more surprising...


Countless chocolate treats and snacks that I picked up were accidentally vegan!

10100.jpeg


Now I know they're hardly healthy but life is all about balance isn't it? I was super excited to find there were lots of things I could snack on and satisfy my sweet tooth with while away.

I was so happy to find such delicious and varied vegan food on my first trip away since going vegan!

23.jpeg

More and more it is becoming evident that Vegan is the future! Even little holiday towns like Corralejo are sitting up and taking note of the growing demand for cruelty free foods and that shows how much the message is growing and the cause is gaining momentum far and wide!

55555555.jpeg


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more vegan and travel posts.

Sort: ย 

what a lovely variety of good food.

Thanks! I was really impressed ๐Ÿ˜Š

Glad you enjoyed a nice holiday and that you were able to find such an abundance of food options! It's nice not to have to eat the same thing on an entire trip. ๐Ÿคฃ

Thanks so much! It was such a relief to find so many options ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hey girl! What a great treat to see! I have noticed myself that everywhere is surprising me with vegan options popping up! I know what you mean about the produce, luckily living in Bali I get my stuff right from the farmer but going back to the US or New Zealand, no dirt allowed and nothing that doesn't look perfect- crazy isn't it? Thanks for sparking a little light I forgot about in me- the Canary Islands- back on my radar for sure! Especially since you just showed me how much there is to eat! Yum! You should have entered this in #veganwednesday! We miss you over there! XO

It's awesome isn't it? It's getting easier and easier all the time ๐Ÿ˜ŠI definitely will enter the contest soon, to be honest since I got back from Fuerte I've been in hibernation mode trying to acclimatise to the crazy snow here in London so my cooking has been very minimal but I will try to be less lazy!

I know! It's amazing though, makes traveling much more enjoyable than a few years ago!

It doesn't need to be a recipe! This was a vegan post, totally fits the criteria! Hope to see you over there soon <3

Ooh good to know! I'll try and think of something for the next round ๐Ÿ˜Š

๐Ÿ’–

Yummy Delicious for menu diet

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š

Wow, so much variation. Love it! Sometimes I do miss supermarkets. But hey we have an amazing local market with fresh organically grown fruits and vegs. And I agree plant-based is the future ;)

Organic local stuff is the best! I try and shop from markets as much as I can in London as the supermarkets are pretty expensive and the packaging is soo excessive

True that. Though I sometimes miss having a food health store for some specific things like chia seeds, nutritional yeast, spirulina, etc.... we have a lot of organically grown moringa products which is nice. Going to Europe soon to stock up!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

All that fruits and veggies looks amazing!!! Wish I could join you there;)

๐Ÿ˜ŠWish I was still there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30